University of Saskatchewan
Research Group on Aging

Group members

CO-CHAIRS

Bernhard Juurlink & Susan Whiting

 

Jane Alcorn
jane.alcorn@usask.ca
Department of Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition
Expertise: Drug metabolism and association between nutrition and chronic disease in later life

Cathy Arnold
cathy.arnold@usask.ca
Department of Physical Therapy, College of Medicine
Expertise: Bone health, exercise intervention, identifying fall risk factors and evaluation of clinical assessment tools

Katherine Ash
katherine.ash@usask.ca
College of Nursing
Expertise: Nursing/patient relationships in care of those with chronic illness and health practices of senior women living in the community of Saskatoon

Brian Bandy
b.bandy@usask.ca
Department of Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition
Expertise: Oxidative stress and mitochondrial respiration in aging and antioxidant activities of dietary flavonoids and other polyphenols.

Phil Chilibeck
phil.chilibeck@usask.ca
College of Kinesiology
Expertise: Exercise, nutritional and pharmaceutical interventions for sarcopenia and osteoporosis

Research Team Photos

Don Drinkwater
don.drinkwater@usask.ca
College of Kinesiology
Expertise: Musculoskeletal system and prevention of osteoporosis

William Dust
dust@duke.usask.ca
Department of Surgery, College of Medicine
Expertise: Osteoarthritis and other musculoskeletal disorders

Thomas Hadjistavropoulos
thomas.hadjistavropoulos@uregina.ca
Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts and Science, University of Regina
Expertise: Pain assessment and management, dementia and gerontology

Research Team Photos

Elizabeth Harrison
liz.harrison@usask.ca
Department of Physical Therapy, College of Medicine
Expertise: Clinical outcome measures associated with physical activities and physical therapies

Research Team Photos

Bernhard Juurlink
bernhard.juurlink@usask.ca
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, College of Medicine
Expertise: Oxidative stress and inflammation in aging and phytochemicals that can reduce some of these problems

Research Team Photos

William Kulyk
kulykw@duke.usask.ca
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, College of Medicine
Expertise: Cellular and molecular expertise in wound healing and in cartilage metabolism and degeneration

Peggy MacLeod
peggy.macleod@usask.ca
College of Nursing
Expertise: Clinical aspects of musculoskeletal problems in seniors

David Malloy
david.malloy@uregina.ca
Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies, University of Regina
Expertise: Ethical issues in aging and health research

Research Team Photos

Benjamin Rosser
rosserb@duke.usask.ca
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, College of Medicine
Expertise: Immunocytochemical and electrophoretic methods to study vertebrate skeletal muscle

Lilian Thorpe
lilian.thorpe@saskatoonhealthregion.ca
Department of Medicine and Psychiatry, College of Medicine
Expertise: Geriatric psychiatry with particular interests in Alzheimer’s disease, Down’s syndrome and prevention of dementias

Susan Whiting
susan.whiting@usask.ca
Department of Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition
Expertise: Improving nutrient intakes of older persons


ASSOCIATED MEMBERS


Margaret Crossley
crossley@sask.usask.ca
Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Science
Expertise: Describing and identifying indicators of normal age-related cognitive changes and early-stage dementia

Research Team Photos

Nancy Gyurcsik
nancy.gyurcsik@usask.ca
College of Kinesiology
Expertise: To promote population health and prevent disease through physical activity

Troy Harkness
troy.harkness@usask.ca
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, College of Medicine
Expertise: Aging-associated changes in the regulation of the transcriptional machinery

Research Team Photos

Debra Morgan
morgand@sask.usask.ca
Institute of Agriculture, Rural and Environmental Health
Expertise: Dementia care

Darrell Mousseau
darrell.mousseau@sask.usask.ca
Department of Psychiatry, Neuropsychiatric Research Unit, College of Medicine
Expertise: Cellular and molecular biology of Alzheimer disease

Research Team Photos

Helen Nichol
helen.nichol@usask.ca
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, College of Medicine
Expertise: Mitochondrial disorders and metal metabolism in aging related disorders

Research Team Photos

Valerie Verge
verge@sask.usask.ca
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, College of Medicine
Expertise: Nerve injury and associated inflammation-induced pain

Peter Yu
yup@usask.ca
Department of Psychiatry, Neuropsychiatric Research Unit, College of Medicine
Expertise: Vascular components of dementia

Gordon Zello
gordon.zello@usask.ca
Department of Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition
Expertise: Optimal nutrient intake for individuals with specific nutritional needs / exercise / nutritional / pharmaceutical / interventions for sarcopenia

University of Saskatchewan