Conference Speakers

Plenary Speakers

Dr. Johann Brink

Dr. Johann Brink is a Clinical Professor and Head of Forensic Psychiatry at the University of British Columbia, as well as Vice President, Medical Affairs and Research for the Forensic Psychiatric Services Commission, an agency of BC Mental Health and Addiction Services. He is Vice President of the Canadian Academy of Psychiatry and the Law, and Co-Chair of the Canadian Forensic Mental Health Network. Dr. Brink is an Adjunct Professor in the School of Criminology at Simon Fraser University and serves on several specialized committees related to forensic psychiatry.

Cal Corley

Cal Corley is the President of CorStrat Solutions, Inc., a firm specializing in strategy, organizational development and building leadership capacity within the public safety, policing and security sectors. Cal is a former Assistant Commissioner with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. Over the course of his career, he gained extensive experience of increasing responsibility in both operations and executive management. He served in such areas as national security, criminal intelligence, drug enforcement, human resources, staff relations, and leading large-scale change management initiatives. He also served as a national security policy advisor at the Privy Council Office. His last six years with the RCMP were as head of the Canadian Police College, where he led the institution in its alignment to better support Canada's evolving domestic and international policing priorities.

Ken HunterKen Hunter is a retired career police officer, canine specialist and Bylaw Manager with the Prince Albert Police Service. He was part of the research team of human service specialists that observed the Scotland Violence Reduction Unit--and upon returning home, created the Hub in Prince Albert. Since the Hub’s inception in February of 2011, Hunter has served as Hub chair. In October of 2011, Community Mobilization Prince Albert (CMPA) and its Centre of Responsibility (COR) were created with funding from the Government of Saskatchewan. Ken currently serves as Executive Director of CMPA and leads the Hub and COR Teams in Prince Albert.

Dr. Paul GendreauDr. Paul Gendreau is Professor Emeritus at the University of New Brunswick and has an appointment at the University of North Carolina. He has published extensively on "what works" on the assessment and treatment of offenders, program implementation, the effects of prison life, and the use of statistics for the purposes of knowledge cumulation. He is the senior author of the Correctional Program Assessment Inventory 2010 which is widely used in North America and elsewhere to evaluate offender treatment programs. Dr. Gendreau worked at Kingston Penitentiary beginning in 1961, and for Ontario Corrections from 1972 to 1986 as Chief and Regional Psychologist at the Rideau Correctional Centre where he also held joint appointments to Carleton University and the University of Ottawa. In 2007 he received the highest honour applicable to a citizen of Canada when he was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada for "achievement of a high degree, especially service to Canada or to humanity at large."

Dale McFeeIn September 2012, after 26 years as a police officer in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, including nine years as the Chief of Police for the Prince Albert Police Service Dale McFee was appointed as Deputy Minister of Corrections and Policing in the Ministry of Justice for the Saskatchewan government.  During his tenure as Chief of the Prince Albert Police Service, Dale McFee was recognized in 2008 for his work in Policing by being named to the Order of Merit and was promoted again within the Order to the rank of Officer in 2011.  Dale is an alumnus of the 2004 Governor General’s Leadership program and was recognized in 2010 by the Saskatchewan Association of Chiefs of Police with a Leadership Award for his work within multi-agency Community Mobilization.

Dr. Irvin Waller

Dr. Irvin Waller is an influential author and speaker, Professor of Criminology, and President of the International Organization for Victim Assistance. His popular books help politicians rethink policy in favor of victims and taxpayers. Less Law, More Order: The Truth about Reducing Crime (2006) and Rights for Victims of Crime: Rebalancing Justice (2010) are now joined in 2014 by Smarter Crime Control. He has won awards internationally for the United Nations resolution that adopted the magna carta for victims and as the founding director of the International Centre for Prevention of Crime, affiliated with the UN.

Workshop Speakers

Lisa Allgaier, Director General, Aboriginal Initiatives Directorate, Correctional Service Canada
Carolyn Camman, Research Officer, Centre for Forensic Behavioural Science and Justice Studies, University of Saskatchewan
Florence Driedger, Board Secretary, Circles of Support and Accountability, South Saskatchewan
Otto Driedger, Board Chair, Circles of Support and Accountability, South Saskatchewan
Linda Flahr, Supervisor, Saskatoon Parole, Correctional Service Canada
Rae Gallivan, Director, Youth Custody Services, Saskatchewan Ministry of Justice - Corrections and Policing
Delphine Gossner, Chief Clinical Director, Saskatchewan Ministry of Justice - Corrections and Policing
Paul Gendreau, Professor Emeritus, University of New Brunswick
Frank Impey, Senior Crown Prosecutor, Saskatoon Prosecution District, Saskatchewan Ministry of Justice
Lisa Jewell, Research Officer, Centre for Forensic Behavioural Science and Justice Studies, University of Saskatchewan
Glen Luther, Associate Professor, College of Law, University of Saskatchewan
Shannon Mudrey, Security Intelligence Analyst, Correctional Service Canada
Thomas Powell, Forensic Psychologist, Vermont Forensic Assessment
Jenelle Power, Acting Special Advisor to the Director of Research, Correctional Service Canada
Jeffrey Sandler, Research Scientist, New York Office of Mental Health
Tania Séguin-Moore, Security Intelligence Analyst, Correctional Service Canada
Michelle Stewart, Assistant Professor, Justice Studies, University of Regina
Sheila Whelan, Administrative Judge, Saskatchewan Provincial Court
Mitch Yuzdepski, Inspector, Saskatoon Police Service