Who We Are & What We Do

Award Winning Faculty


We are delighted to wish Dr. Sheila Carr-Steward congratulations as a recent recipient of the Provost’s Award for Excellence in Aboriginal Education, which annually recognizes an outstanding teacher who makes an exceptional contribution to Aboriginal Learning. She will be recognized at the Celebration of Teaching, hosted by the Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching Effectiveness. The event will be held in September as a kick off event to the 2013-2014 Academic year.


It is our pleasure to extend congratulations to Dr. Marie Battiste for being awarded the Canadian Association of University Teachers highest honour, the Distinguished Academic Award for her remarkable career as a teacher, scholar, researcher, and community activist. The award is given to an academic contributing to the lives of their students, institution, field of study and community by excelling in teaching, research, and service to the institution and community. She was presented the award on April 27th, 2013 at the CAUT Council Meeting in Ottawa and was the guest of honour at the Council dinner that evening.