The Peter Corren Award for Outstanding Achievement


  1. This award may be given annually at the Breaking the Silence conference
  2. The award should be granted to that person, persons, or organization whose efforts have had a long-term impact on social justice for sexual minorities. It could be granted posthumously
  3. The award should be granted to those whose service/work was performed in Saskatchewan, or to those who have had a close relationship with communities in this province. The service/work may have been done outside of our province but would have affected us in Saskatchewan directly
  4. The work undertaken by a nominee should be done in a field of education broadly define

Recipients of the Award:

2013 - Patti Rowley was the teacher-liaison for the first Gay-Straight Alliance in a Saskatchewan high school and has led vibrant groups for thirteen consecutive years in Saskatoon.

2013 - Jim Komar is a long-time activist for sexual minority rights including being a charter member of Affirm United at Grosvenor Park United Church and Integrity, an Anglican Church support group--both in Saskatoon. As well, he was an official complainant to the Saskatchewan Human Rights Commission more than ten years ago regarding hate speech, a case that led to the landmark judgment by the Supreme Court of Canada in 2013.

2012 - Kay Williams, activist in many progressive causes, member of the national board of directors for PFLAG beginning in 2004, co-founder of the PFLAG-Saskatoon, and member of the Breaking the Silence advisory board since 1997.

2011 - Neil Richards, Librarian, Member of the Committee to Defend Doug Wilson, Archivist of materials that document the gay, lesbian, and trans communities in Saskatchewan.

2010 - Gens Hellquist, Community activist, Executive Director of the Canadian Rainbow Health Coalition, and for many years Director of the Gay and Lesbian Health Centre in Saskatoon.


Nominations for this award may be sent to

Please describe briefly your reasons for your recommendation.