Advisory Board

The development of the Journal is overseen by the Journal Initiative Advisory Committee and coordinated by the Journal Convener.

The Advisory Committee oversees the development of the journal and serves as a liaison between the Engaged Scholar Journal Initiative and various academic and research communities involved in the scholarship of engagement at local, provincial, national and international levels.

Natalia Khanenko FriesenDr. Natalia Khanenko FriesenInaugural Editor

Natalia Khanenko-Friesen, a cultural anthropologist with an expertise in community outreach and engaged scholarship, is an Associate Professor of St. Thomas More College and the Head of the Department of Religion and Culture. Interested in ethnicity and diasporas, post-socialist transition and labour migration, she initiated and worked on a variety of community-based projects in Western Canada, Ukraine, Italy, and Portugal. A former director of internationally recognized Prairie Centre for the Ukrainian Heritage at the U of S, she also serves on Saskatchewan-Ukraine Relations Advisory Committee to Saskatchewan Government.

Sylvia AbonyiDr. Sylvia AbonyiAdvisory Committee

Dr. Sylvia Abonyi of the Department of Community Health and Epidemiology is a Canada Research Chair in Aboriginal Health and research faculty with the Saskatchewan Population Health and Evaluation Research Unit. As an anthropologist and health researcher, she is interested in the role of culture in population health. She is deeply committed to community driven action research and has collaboratively investigated topics that include respiratory health, tuberculosis, type 2 diabetes, aging, food security, and frameworks & measures of community health.

Hope BilinskiDr. Hope BilinskiAdvisory Committee

Dr. Hope Bilinski is Associate Dean of Central Saskatchewan Saskatoon Campus and Academic Health Sciences. As a nurse, she has worked in a variety of rural settings dealing with acute care, long-term care and in-home care. As a scholar, her research probes into cardiovascular health, health promotion, health behaviors, obesity, children’s health and rural health.

Pamela DowneDr. Pamela DowneAdvisory Committee

Dr. Pamela Downe is a medical anthropologist and is currently the Head of the Department of Archaeology & Anthropology. She has worked with over 25 community-based organizations and is the recipient of the Canadian Anthropology Society’s Weaver-Tremblay Award, an honour extended to those whose commitment to engaged anthropology is deemed exemplary. Her research spans six countries including Mexico, Guatemala, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Barbados and Canada, and focuses on maternal health, infectious disease, and violence.

Isobel FindlayDr. Isobel FindlayAdvisory Committee

Dr. Isobel Findlay is University co-director of the Community-University Institute for Social Research (CUISR), which is a partnership between community-based organizations and researchers at the University of Saksatchewan. She is also a professor at the Edwards School of Business and has published widely on business communications, co-operative studies, cultures and communities, diversity in the workplace, partnerships and participation, Aboriginal entrepreneurship, and law and culture. As an engaged scholar, she designs and conducts research with community partners, non-profits, and the public and private sectors to promote and support economic development, community entrepreneurship, and environmental sustainability.

Robert Alexander InnesDr. Robert Alexander InnesAdvisory CommitteeDr. Robert Alexander Innes is a Plains Cree member of Cowessess First Nation and an assistant professor in the Department of Native Studies, University of Saskatchewan. An engaged scholar, his work extends from examining indigenous men and masculinities in the contemporary context and exploring the ways in which indigenous knowledge can be incorporated into water and  wastewater management. He also explores how traditional customary law has historically guided kinship relations and continues to shape contemporary kinship practices as manifested in governance, economic development and health.
Nazeem MuhajarineDr. Nazeem MuhajarineAdvisory Committee

Dr. Nazeem Muhajarine is a social epidemiologist, and is professor and chair, Department of Community Health and Epidemiology, U of Saskatchewan. He has worked with community and government leaders in conducting research on child health, and the role of social and economic status in health care services. His work in these research areas won him several awards including the 2006 Canadian Institutes of Health Research’s Knowledge Translation Award and the 2009 Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation’s Achievement Award.

Maureen ReedDr. Maureen ReedAdvisory Committee

Dr. Maureen Reed is Professor and Assistant Director of the School of Environment and Sustainability. She specializes in the social dimensions of environmental governance, particularly in understanding the impact of shifting priorities associated with environmental  protection for the sustainability of rural communities. By working with people associated with biosphere reserves, model forests and community forests, she also learns about the contributions they make to practices that support environmental, economic and social sustainability of local communities during times of significant transformation. Her research also includes gender-based analyses of environmental management.

Ulrich  Teucher Dr. Ulrich  Teucher Advisory Committee

Dr. Ulrich Teucher is associate professor in the Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences. His research interests in the interrelated fields of Culture, Health, and Human Development have led him to work closely with cancer patients, indigenous peoples and food security, and children particularly on their developing conceptions of self-knowledge. He has worked in at least three countries including Malaysia, Germany and Canada.

Nancy Van StyvendaleDr. Nancy Van StyvendaleAdvisory CommitteeDr. Nancy Van Styvendale is an Assistant Professor in the Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences, who specializes in Native North American literatures and community service-learning. She co-founded and helps coordinate the Inspired Minds: All Nations Creative Writing program, a partnership  between the Saskatoon Correctional Centre and the University of Saskatchewan. The program provides men in jail with free classes in reading and writing in a variety of literary genres, including poetry, short stories, and autobiography. Nancy has co-edited several works including Narratives of Citizenship: Indigenous and Diasporic Peoples Unsettle the Nation-State (2008), and St8Up and Gangs: The Untold Stories (2012). She also serves on the Board of AIDS Saskatoon.
Tom YatesDr. Tom YatesAdvisory CommitteeDr. Tom Yates is an assistant professor in the Department of Soil Science and winner of the Provost’s College Awards for Outstanding Teaching for the College of Agriculture and Bioresources. His expertise is on soil mapping, delineation and mapping of biophysical units, and Saskatchewan landscapes. His teaching pedagogy and research is grounded on seeking ways to connect resource management and soil science to real-life issues, designing courses for teaching and experiential learning that are transferrable to the work force and non-academic organizations.
Penelope SanzMs. Penelope SanzJournal Managing Assistant

Ms. Penelope Sanz is a Ph.D. Candidate in Interdisciplinary Studies. She has worked in various indigenous communities in Southern Philippines as educator, media worker, researcher, and development program officer. Her research interests include mining and other extractive industry, human rights, indigenous rights, indigenous education, development and peace, land and natural resource rights.