GMCTE Youtube Channel GMCTE Bookmarks on Diigo The Gwenna Moss Center on Twitter 

Provost's Award for Outstanding Innovation in Learning


Submission Deadline:

  • February 15


  • Nominators: Students, alumni, staff, faculty, departments, or colleges are eligible to nominate a candidate.
  • Nominations and supporting materials: limited to 15 pages. 
    • Normally, a nomination would include a two-page letter of nomination that explicitly addresses how the innovation was developed and how it influences learning, plus a three-page abbreviated curriculum vitae, a statement of teaching philosophy, three to five letters of support—at least three of which should be from peers (faculty, colleagues, instructors or department heads)—and a summary of student evaluations (commentary or data, such as SEEQ profiles). 
    • Page limit does not include cover page and table of contents.

About the Award

The Provost’s Award for Outstanding Innovation in Learning annually recognizes an outstanding teacher who demonstrates innovative approaches to learning at the University of Saskatchewan.

  • The recipient will receive an award of $1,000 to be used to support a project or scholarship in teaching and learning. The award will be transferred to a University of Saskatchewan account. Please note that in order to hold the award funding, the recipient must be employed by the University.
  • One award will be made annually and the recipient will be recognized at a Celebration of Teaching hosted by the Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching Effectiveness.

Eligibility and Selection

All faculty, sessional lecturers or staff members employed on a full-time or continuing part-time basis by the University are eligible. As a condition of receiving the award, the recipients will be asked to make a public presentation organized by the Gwenna Moss Centre on their work in teaching and learning.

Selection Committee

Nominations, shall be forwarded to the Gwenna Moss Centre. A selection committee composed of the Director of the GMCTE, past Provost's teaching award recipients, and a student representative will review nominations and select a recipient.

The award will be presented to an individual who demonstrates:

Evidence of innovative approaches to teaching and learning
  • new or innovative pedagogies in courses, such as active learning, guided-independent study, blended learning, distributed learning, or self-directed learning.
  • sustained commitment to innovation in the classroom and/or the laboratory, such as participation in learning communities, community service learning or peer-assisted, collaborative approaches.
  • innovative uses of learning technologies at the undergraduate level, and at the graduate level where appropriate to assigned duties.
Evidence of leadership in distributed teaching and learning
  • the production of high quality peer-reviewed scholarly contributions related to innovative approaches to learning.
  • contributions to the promotion, mentorship and/or development of innovative learning strategies and technologies with peers and junior colleagues.
  • activity related to the design or development of an innovative strategy, course, or program of study.
  • evidence of ongoing professional development in teaching
Past Recipients