GMCTE Youtube Channel GMCTE Bookmarks on Diigo The Gwenna Moss Center on Twitter 

Provost's College Awards


Application Deadline:

  • February 1 (for submitting nominations to the colleges)

Submission Deadline:

  • February 15 (for colleges to forward their nominee to the GMCTE)


  • Nominators: Students, alumni, faculty, departments, or colleges are eligible to nominate a candidate.
  • Nominations and supporting materials: limited to 15 pages.
    • Normally, a nomination would include a two-page letter of nomination plus a three-page abbreviated CV, a statement of teaching philosophy, three to five letters of support—at least three of which should be from peers (faculty, colleagues, instructors or department heads)—and a summary of student evaluations (commentary or data, such as SEEQ profiles).

About the Awards

The Provost’s College Awards for Outstanding Teaching annually recognize an outstanding teacher in each College at the University of Saskatchewan.

The recipient will receive an award of $1,000 to be used to support a project or scholarship in teaching and learning. The award will be transferred to a University of Saskatchewan account. Please note that in order to hold the award funding, the recipient must be employed by the University.

One award will be made annually and the recipient will be recognized at a Celebration of Teaching hosted by the Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching Effectiveness.

Eligibility and Selection

All faculty, sessional lecturers or staff members employed on a full-time or continuing part-time basis by the College or division are eligible. As a condition of receiving the award, the recipients will be asked to make a public presentation organized by the Gwenna Moss Centre on their work in teaching and learning.
Provost’s College Awards for Outstanding Teaching are awarded to the following Colleges:
  • Agriculture and Bioresources
  • Arts and Science: Science 
  • Arts and Science: Social Sciences
  • Arts and Science: Humanities and Fine Arts 
  • Edwards School of Business 
  • Dentistry 
  • Education 
  • Engineering 
  • Kinesiology 
  • Law
  • Medicine (School of Physical Therapy) 
  • Nursing 
  • Pharmacy and Nutrition 
  • University Library 
  • Veterinary Medicine

Selection Committee

Nominations will be considered first by the College or Division named in the award, by a committee appointed by the Dean of the College. The name of the chosen nominee for the award, along with the nomination package, shall be forwarded to the Gwenna Moss Centre. A selection sub-committee composed of the Director of the GMCTE, past Provost's teaching award recipients, and a student representative will review recommendations from the Colleges and have the authority to approve or reject the recommendations. 

The awards will be presented to individuals who demonstrate (click to expand):

evidence of outstanding teaching 
  • excellent overall quality in teaching courses or in point-of-need assistance for research and course support in the library as determined by students and peers
  • evidence of sustained commitment to teaching and learning over a number of years
  • evidence of excellent teaching at the undergraduate level, and at the graduate level where possible.
  • evidence of excellent graduate student supervision and mentorship where possible or, in the case of librarians, engagement in student learning through mentorship and internship.
evidence of educational leadership
  • the production of high quality peer-reviewed scholarly contributions related to university teaching or learning or to library instruction
  • contributions to the mentorship and development of teaching skills in their peers and junior colleagues.
  • activity related to the design or development of an innovative strategy, course, or program of study
  • evidence of ongoing professional development in teaching

There is no expectation that teaching and educational leadership be included in equal measures. Every individual will no doubt express different emphases, and we hope the awards will attract a rich and diverse array of nominations.

Past Recipients