Alumni Announcements


Robert Ross Pinder, Pharm '39, has received the Saskatchewan Order of Merit in the spring of '99.


Rev. William E. Hordern, BA'41, former president of the Lutheran Theological Seminary is Saskatoon, was awarded an honorary doctor of divinity degree, at the seminary's spring convocation. He was the seminary's president from 1966 to 1985 and is a professor emeritus of systematic theology.


Thomas C. Wakeling, LLB'48, a judge of the Saskatchewan Court of Appeal since 1984, has retired after nearly 15 years on the bench. Born in Saskatoon, he served with the RCAF in the Second World War. He practised law in Lloydminster and Regina and was also chairman of the Saskatchewan Police Commission and president of both the Law Society of Saskatchewan and the Saskatchewan branch of the Canadian Bar Association.


Douglas D. Baldwin, BE'58, of Calgary, AB, was appointed to the Board of Directors of Prudential Steel Ltd.


Dr. Ken J. Fyke, BSP'62, of Saanichton, BC, Chair of Canadian Blood Services, was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Laws degree, May 28, 1999, from the Royal Roads University, Victoria, BC.


Dr. Beth Bilson, BA'67, MA'70, LLB'77, PhD'72 (London), a law professor with the U of S; was appointed as dean of the College of Law. She has been a member of the faculty since 1979 and was chairman of the Saskatchewan Labour Relations Board from 1992 to 1997 and prior to that was assistant vice-president of administration and assistant dean for the college of law.


Dr. Dennis K.J. Gorecki, BSP'69, PHD'73, of Saskatoon, was elected as Chairman of the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) Division of Standards Development Executive Committee. Dr. Gorecki is the first Canadian to serve in this role. He also serves on the USP 2000-2005 Committee of Revision Nominating Committee.


Dr. Ernie Barber, PhD'71, a professor and head of agricultural and bioresource engineering at the U of S; appointed as Dean of the college of Agriculture. He joined the university in 1981 as an assistant professor and has been a full professor since 1990. He is a member of the university council and acting chairman of the academic affairs committee.

Ken Ritter, BEd'71, LLB'76, a Kindersley farmer; was elected as chairman of the board of the Canadian Wheat Board. He has practised law and taught school in Canada and Australia. He co-authored legislation for the Saskatchewan Farm Security Act, was commissioner with the National Transport Agency of Canada and chairman of the Saskatchewan Surface Rights Arbitration Board.

Dr. Nettie Wiebe, BA'71, MA'76, PhD'83 (Calgary), was appointed chief executive officer of the National Farmers Union from 1985 to 1998; as professor of church and society at St. Andrew's College on the University of Saskatchewan campus.


Carol Snell, QC, BA'72, LLB'77 (Kingston), director of special projects for Saskatchewan Justice public prosecutions; was appointed as a judge of the Provincial Court of Saskatchewan in Regina. In 1978, she was admitted to the Bar and practised with Saskatchewan Justice for more than 20 years as a crown prosecutor, crown solicitor and senior crown prosecutor.


Beverly (Bev) Edwin Allan, BSP'73, was recently appointed SPhA Representative on the Board of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada.

Caroline Cottrell, BEd'73, BA'81, MA'89, has been a professor of History at SPC for a number of years. Her charm and hard work has won her the admiration of faculty and students alike. Caroline has worked as a Junior Counsellor with the Saskatoon Family Services Bureau and as Public Education Co-ordinator for the Saskatchewan Heart Foundation before assuming the position as Head of Interlibrary Loans for the University of Saskatchewan Library. After completing her master's degree, she established and ran the Native Resource Centre in the College of Education. Presently, she is a sessional lecturer and distance educator for the Department of History, a member of the College of Arts and Science Employment Equity Committee, and a trustee for the Saskatoon Board of Education. When she is not otherwise engaged as the mother of two children, she is completing her doctorate in history.

Arlis McQuarrie, Physio '73, BA'79, received the Joyce Manton/Professional Involvement Award, emblematic of outstanding dedication to the profession. Arlis is currently academic clinical coordinator, School of Physical Therapy, U of S, and received the award for her outstanding clinical, professional and organisational contributions.


Philip (Phil) L. Mamchur, BComm'75, was named a regional winner of the Ted Jones Prospecting Award by the Edward Jones Company. The award goes to the firm's first-year investment representatives who achieve high levels of success.


Joanne Bradley, BComm'79, BA'80, MBA'82, of Saskatoon, has assumed the position of Administrative Coordinator in the office the Vice President (Finance & Administration). Joanne has held a number of positions in communications and system management in an 11 year career at William M. Mercer Limited.

Neil D. Reeder, BA'79, BJ'81 (Carleton), has just recently become High Commissioner to Brunei Darussalam.


Larry Ollenberger, BUSADM'81, of Saskatoon, has retired after a 30-year career with the City of Saskatoon. He has been city treasurer, purchasing manager and information services manager and most recently was manager of the Asset Management department and acting manager of the corporate information services department.


James M. McMahon, BSc'83, MBA'89, has been appointed as Director, Natural Gas Marketing & Trading, for Unocal Canada Limited, and will be responsible for Unocal Canada's ongoing marketing of natural gas storage services and the buying and selling of natural gas.


Donald J. D. Sabo, BSc'84, was selected as one of Canada's Top 40 Under Age 40 for 1998. He is Chair and Sr. VP for Genesis Exploration Ltd. in Calgary, AB.


Rodney Antonichuck, BA'85, of Saskatoon, was appointed as President of Junior Achievement of Northern Saskatchewan.

Valerie Macdonald, LLB'85, was appointed Vice President - Legal of IPSCO Saskatchewan Inc., May, '99. She joined IPSCO in 1988 and has been in the Company's legal department for the majority of that time.


Ken R. Thorson, BA'90, was ordained as a Roman Catholic priest, in the first ordination ever for Nipawin, SK. He studied at St. Thomas More College in Saskatoon and at the Newman Theological College in St. Albert, AB, followed by 2 years of studies at the Oblate novitiate in Arnprior, ON.


Allen Harrington, BMUS '99, a Saskatoon saxaphonist, was recently (August) awarded the grand Prize at Canada's National Music Festival held in Winnipeg.

Lynette Laing, BComm'99, was recently hired as Business Manager of the Sheaf on the U of S Campus.