U of S Alumni Association President’s Message

Judy MacMillan

Thank you to everyone who attended the Annual General Meeting in June. At this meeting, the governance structure review that my predecessors have written about in these pages reached its full conclusion as members in attendance ratified the proposed changes. The most significant changes are a new board structure, new bylaws and a new committee structure. Our focus now shifts to filling committee positions as we work to fulfill our mission of building bonds with the university and adding value to the lives of our members. A list of board members and the new bylaws can be found at

The third part of our mission is to celebrate the success of our accomplished alumni. We will be doing just that at the annual Alumni Achievement Awards reception November 2. Join me in congratulating our 12 recipients listed on pages 18 and 19. Event information can be found at

On behalf of the University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association, I extend a warm welcome to Ilene Busch-Vishniac, the ninth U of S president. Remember, this is your Alumni Association, and we welcome your input and participation.

All the best,
Jason Aebig Signature
Judy MacMillan, BSA’79

Senate Election Results

District elections:

District 1 - Theresa Girardin, HeCAdm’92, Weyburn, SK
District 5 - Russ McPherson BSc’76, Outlook, SK
District 6 - Adelle Marie Kopp-McKay, BEd’83, mEd’94, Yorkton, SK
District 10 - Janice Jonsson, BSN’95, Pelican Narrows, SK
District 12 (no nominations received)
District 13 - Jim Pulfer, BA’64, mSc’68, Saskatoon, SK
District 14 (no nominations received)

Elected members at large:

Doreen Docken, BEd’85, Beauval, SK
Stefania Fortugno, LLB’87, Saskatoon, SK
Deborah mihalicz, BSc’84, BEd’89, Beauval, SK
Karen Rooney, BSN’08, Saskatoon, SK
Lenore Swystun, BA’87, mA’97, Saskatoon, SK

For a complete list of senate members, please visit

Honorary Alumni


The Alumni Association is proud to welcome Wendy Field (nee Bates) (left) and Dr. William (Bill) and Betty Albritton (right) as honorary members. Their memberships were approved at the Annual General Meeting on June 20 and will be celebrated at the Alumni Achievement Awards reception November 2.

Wendy worked in the Alumni Relations Office for more than 30 years before retiring this spring. Bill, former dean of the College of Medicine, and his wife, Betty, were nominated by the college and the college’s alumni association.

To read more about Wendy, Bill and Betty, visit and read the submissions under the Annual General Meeting, reports section.

London Calling

London Tour

London, UK area alumni enjoyed a thames River cruise at a branch event may 24.

Beyond the Bowl

A monthly newsletter for U of S Alumni and friends

Subscribe to our new monthly electronic newsletter that includes:

  • alumni profiles
  • alumni events
  • U of S news
  • U of S research news
  • Alumni Association news
  • and more
Email to subscribe.