Description: Description: Description: C:\Users\User\Documents\site2\images\logos\home.jpg

About the History Graduate Students Committee

The HGSC is an elected body of graduate students that provides for the administration, unity, and welfare of all MA and PhD students in the Department of History.

Elected every September, the HGSC operates throughout the year and administers a range of social and intellectual activities designed to facilitate student interaction. The HGSC sponsors an ongoing lecture series, a History graduate student colloquia, an annual spring Book Pub fundraising auction, and, new this year, a PhD Research Workshop.  We also help to administer the Buffalo Province History Conference in conjunction with the Department of History.  The HGSC works hard to foster a vibrant social community within our Department.  We host numerous social events throughout the year including seasonal parties, barbecues, and other activities.

HGSC Elections are held each September and executive terms last for one full year.  HGSC positions are open to both incoming and continuing MA or PhD students in History, with the exception of vice president, which traditionally goes to a first year MA student.  All History graduate students are encouraged to get involved and run for council.  It is a rewarding experience and a great way to meet new people.  Detailed descriptions of HGSC executive positions and duties can be found in our constitution. Feel free to contact the president for any additional information.


The 2012-2013 HGSC Executive:

President

Scott Dumonceaux

s.dumonceaux@usask.ca

Vice president

Scott Silver

scott.henry.silver@gmail.com

Secretary/Treasurer

Melissa Davidson

melissajdavidson@gmail.com

Communications Officer

Dustin McNichol

djm931@mail.usask.ca

Social directors

Jessica DeWitt

jessicamariedewitt@gmail.com

Sarah York

sey179@mail.usask.ca

Faculty liaison

Erin Spinney

erin.spinney@usask.ca

PhD Workshop Coordinator

Frances Reilly

f.reilly@usask.ca

GSA reps

Laura Larsen

laura.l@usask.ca

Carling Beninger

carlingbeninger@gmail.com

Patrick Chassee

chassee@gmail.com