Need help?

Call Us: 306-966-2222
or: 1-800-966-4817
     (Toll Free in Canada)

Email Us

Chat with Us:
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Please call for password resets

Visit the ICT Service Desk in Arts 70

Use ownCloud on Web Browser

Upload Files

Click-and-Drag Method
  1. Drag a single file, or select and drag multiple files, from Explorer (Finder on a Mac) directly into the ownCloud website. When you release the mouse, the files will be uploaded to the system.

click

Upload Button
  1. Within ownCloud, click on the Upload button. This is a button with an upward-facing arrow on it.

    upload

  2. A file selection window will appear. Select the file(s) you want to upload to ownCloud.

    docu

  3. Click the Open button.
  4. Your file will be uploaded to ownCloud.

upload

Create Folders

  1. From the main screen in ownCloud, click the New button.

    folder

  2. In the menu that appears, click the Folder link.
  3. A text box will appear in the menu. Replace the highlighted New folder text with the folder name of your choice.

    my

  4. Click Enter. The new folder will be created.

new

Delete Files

  1. To delete a file, click the x on the right side of the screen when you hover your mouse over the file name.

    delete

  2. After you delete the file, it is placed in your ownCloud Recycle Bin should you need it again. These deleted files will contribute towards your quota (even if the quota message suggests otherwise). To manage your storage effectively, you may wish to permanently delete some items from your Recycle Bin.

Permanently Delete Files/Folders

  1. Access the recylcle bin by clicking on the Deleted files button on the top right of your screen.

    delete

  2. Hover over the file/folder you wish to permanently delete and select the check box that appears.

    delete

  3. Click the Delete button on the top right of your screen.

Restore Files/Folders

  1. Access the recylcle bin by clicking on the Deleted files button on the top right of your screen.

    delete

  2. Hover over the file/folder you wish to restore and select the check box that appears.

    delete

  3. Click the Restore button on the top right of your screen.

Share Files

Share Within the U of S (to someone with an NSID)
  1. Hover your mouse over the file you would like to share, and click the Share link.

    share

  2. Start typing in the first name and last name of the individual you wish to share the document with (all university NSID holders have been pre-populated). If the individual’s name does not appear in the drop down, try searching by last name or first name only. 

    Name

  3. Select the name of the individual you wish to share the document with.
  4. The person's name will then be added to the list of people that can access this file.

After sharing the file, there are options that appear next to the user's name.

share

  • Notify by Email: Checking this box will send a notification to the user informing them that you have shared a file using ownCloud.
  • Can Edit: This box is checked by default. This allows the user to update the file, delete the file, and share the file with other people. These rights can be restricted by clicking on the small arrow to the right of can edit and unchecking the various options that appear. Read-only access can be granted by unchecking the can edit box entirely.
Share Outside the U of S
  1. Hover your mouse over the file you would like to share, and click the Share link.

    share

  2. In the box that appears, select the Share link check box.

    share link

  3. This will expand the box. At the top is a website address you can give to anyone to access the file (NOTE: the website address is much longer than the text box displays).

    link

  4. Additionally, you can enter in an e-mail address to have ownCloud automatically send the file URL to the email recipient.

    email

  5. You can also check off Password protect and type in a password people would need to access the file.
Last modified on