Groups are important in managing access to your website. Groups are a useful way to manage access and permissions because they can be used to assign permissions to several people at once. An individual user must be in at least one group, but can be in multiple groups. Roles can be changed for an entire group, if necessary. When a Manager creates a group, the Manager will be pre-populated into the group in order to be able to access it.
As with roles and permissions, careful consideration must be given to how these are organized. When roles are assigned to a group, all users in that group have the abilities of that role. As Cascade recognizes the highest role given to a user, if the group has a role higher than their assigned role, the user will have the abilities of the group's role. It is recommended that when groups are created they are given the contributor role. Higher roles assigned at the individual role will override the group's role.
When a group has a Contributor role assigned to it, all users within that group are limited to actions permitted for the Contributor role unless a user has a higher role designated somewhere else in the system. When a group has an Approver role assigned to it, any users within that group may approve or reject workflow steps assigned to the group. When a group has a Publisher role assigned to it, any users within that group may publish content through workflow steps assigned to the group.
Group access will need to be applied in several locations to provide access to folders, pages and content wizards. It is also applied in several places in the Administration area for individuals with the manager role.
Individuals can be assigned a default group to provide added granularity. When creating a group there is the option to select a Starting Page, Base Folder and Asset Factory Container for the group. These selections will affect what the members of the group see on the "Create/Manage Content" area of their dashboard if it is selected as the individual's default group. If no default group is selected, then the "Create/Manage Content" area will be empty.