College of Nursing

News and Announcements

Dr. Lois Berry Receives 2012 CASN Wendy McBride Award

November 15, 2012

Dr. Lois Berry, Associate Dean North and North-Western Campus and Rural and Remote Engagement, was recently nominated and selected as the recipient of the 2012 Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (CASN) Wendy McBride Award for Accreditation Reviewer Excellence.

President Busch-Vishniac and Minister Morgan officially cut the ribbon, while Dean Butler and Associate Dean Lynn Jansen unveil the rendering of the final construction phase.
Dr. Linda Ferguson - CASN President (incoming), Dr. Mary Ellen Andrews, Cathy Jeffery, Dr. Lois Berry, Dr. Hope Bilinski, Dr. Phil Woods and Dr. Lorna Butler attended the 2012 CASN Awards.

This award is presented annually to a CASN Accreditation Program Reviewer who has made an important contribution to the Accreditation Program by providing direction and leadership during an on-site visit. The competition is tough. All candidates must be nominated by three faculty members of a CASN member school, one of which must be the dean/director/chair of a nursing education program recently reviewed OR another review team member the nominee has worked with.

"I am honoured to receive this prestigious award based on the recommendations of my peers. The CASN Accreditation program is about ensuring excellence in nursing education, something I have been passionate about throughout my career in nursing education in Saskatchewan," said Dr. Berry. She accepted the award on November 13th at the CASN Annual Awards reception in Ottawa, Ontario, alongside several U of S College of Nursing colleagues.

Congratulations Dr. Berry!