[Department of Philosophy, University of Saskatchewan, 100 Years, 1909-2009]

 Department News & Events

Philosophy in the Community: Erin Delathouwer (College of Education, University of Saskatchewan), "Magical Thinking, Anger and Forgiveness: Reflections on Nussbaum’s Anger and Forgiveness: Resentment, Generosity, Justice," Friday, November 11th, 7:00 PM, The Refinery (Emmanuel Anglican Church basement), 609 Dufferin Ave.

Department Colloquium: Paul Simard-Smith (University of Regina), "Can Deep Disagreements Be Rationally Resolved?," Friday, November 25th, 3:30 PM, Edwards School of Business (ESB), Room 103

Congratulations to Marzieh Eskandari on successfully defending her thesis Reasoning from a Tradition-Constituted Ground: MacIntyre's Criticisms of Liberalism, supervised by Ria Jenkins.

Follow the Department of Philosophy on Facebook [FB icon]

Follow Philosophy in the Community on Facebook [FB icon]

The U of S Philosophy Student Society [FB icon]

The University of Saskatchewan Philosophy Club [FB icon]

Also on Facebook: U of S Philosophy Alumni Group [FB icon]


About the Department

[Arts Building, University of Saskatchewan]
Arts Building, University of Saskatchewan
(Photo: eMAP, 2007)
Department Head
Peter Alward peter.alward@usask.ca
Graduate Chair
Rob Hudson r.hudson@usask.ca
Undergraduate Chair
Leslie Howe l.a.howe@usask.ca
Undergraduate Advising
Students seeking advice on programs should arrange an appointment through the HUMFA Administrative Commons. <philosophy.department@usask.ca>

Philosophy has been a presence at the University of Saskatchewan for fully 100 years. Dr. Walter C. Murray, first President of the University, taught the first philosophy course here in 1909. The first Department Head was Ira MacKay and there have since been twelve more. Fr. Basil Markle began teaching scholastic philosophy in the Department in 1926; in 1936 he moved to the Department of Philosophy at the newly founded St. Thomas More College, the Catholic liberal arts college federated with the University. In the 1960s the main Department expanded to nine members under Dr. Leonard Miller (Head from 1961-1978). Recent changes have seen many new faces in the faculty, with four of the eight current members of the Department having been hired since 1999.

The Philosophy Department has a thriving graduate program, in 2010-2011 numbering 15 Masters Students and one interdisciplinary Ph.D. student. Current and recent students in our programs have secured 14 scholarships, including 4 prestigious SSHRCs; in a typical year we have a further 3 to 6 students holding Graduate Teaching Fellowships. The graduate program brings together 13 Philosophy faculty members from our Department and St. Thomas More College, and an additional 5 associate and affiliated members from U of S faculty.

Site Map | Contact

Web Editor: William Buschert

Office Coordinator for Philosophy: (306) 966-4215

Last updated: 24-10-2016

Department of Philosophy
9 Campus Drive,
Saskatoon, SK
Canada S7N 5A5

Tel:  (306) 966-6382
Fax: (306) 966-2567

[University of Saskatchewan]