Presidential Search Update 1

Presidential Search Update #1 July 14, 2011

U of S faculty, staff and students,

As you know, we have begun the search process for a president to succeed Peter MacKinnon, who is stepping down as of July 2012. To date, the search committee has solicited input at three separate town halls held on campus, in Saskatoon and in Regina to help inform its work. The full committee has now met twice.

We continue to welcome your feedback on the main challenges facing the next president and the background, experience, and personal qualities that the search committee should be seeking in potential candidates. Please provide your thoughts as early as possible via email at  

As part of our search, we have placed notices in University Affairs, Globe and Mail, The Chronicle of Higher Education and Times Higher Education to encourage potential candidates to apply. We also welcome nominations and suggestions from U of S faculty and staff, which can be submitted to the email address listed above.

After careful deliberation, the search committee has decided to conduct a confidential search to protect the identity of candidates. Only the name of the candidate selected by the committee and approved by the board will be announced. This level of confidentiality is standard practice in Canadian searches for senior-level administrators, and is essential for attracting top-quality candidates who may currently hold senior-level positions at other institutions. The willingness to put one’s name forward often depends on the assurance of confidentiality throughout the process, so that an individual’s candidacy will not destabilize their current employer.

We will continue to send regular updates as the search progresses. For more information about the presidential search process, including a list of search committee members, please visit our website at


Nancy E. Hopkins, Q.C. (Hon) C.A.
Chair of the Board of Governors and
Chair, Search Committee for the President


For more information, contact Norma McBain, Office of the University Secretary, at 966-4635.