Northern Studies

Academic Coordinator: A. Aitken (Department of Geography & Planning, 117 Kirk Hall, 117 Science Place, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada S7N 5C8. Telephone: (306) 966-5672/5654; Facsimile: (306) 966-5680; E-mail:

The University of Saskatchewan is a member institution of the University of the Arctic, a consortium of more than 100 colleges, universities, research institutes, and indigenous organizations from the eight Arctic states (Canada, Denmark/Greenland, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and USA/Alaska). UArctic has developed seven 3 credit-unit courses focusing on northern issues, which are available to students at all UArctic member institutions. As a consortium member, the University of Saskatchewan has committed to recognizing and offering credit for these courses. These courses form the core of the interdisciplinary B.A. program in Northern Studies. The Northern Studies program offers students the opportunity to learn about the lands, peoples and issues of the circumpolar North with a special emphasis given to matters concerning indigenous people. Students pursuing a degree in Northern Studies are required to complete an advanced emphasis stream in either aboriginal public administration or environmental impact assessment and must also meet Program Type B requirements of the College of Arts & Science.

The Coordinator, Off-Campus Programs provides administrative support to the Northern Studies Academic Coordinator, as well as being a point of contact for students requiring assistance; E-mail:

Major Average

The major average in Northern Studies programs includes the grades earned in:

  • All NRTH courses and all courses listed in the Major Requirement B6.

Residency Requirements in the Major

To receive a degree in Northern Studies, students must complete at least two-thirds of the following coursework (to the nearest highest multiple of 3 credit units) from the University of Saskatchewan.

  • Minimum requirements in Major Requirement B6.

See Residency for additional details.

Bachelor of Arts Four-year (B.A. Four-year) - Northern Studies

Bachelor of Arts Three-year (B.A. Three-year) - Northern Studies

Bachelor of Arts Honours (B.A. Honours) - Northern Studies

Northern Studies - Minor