University of Saskatchewan

September 22, 2014   


The University of Saskatchewan is the only Canadian university to house five health sciences colleges: Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy and Veterinary Medicine. The University also offers a program in Physical Therapy.

The College of Dentistry first held classes in 1968. Today, the College employs over 50 faculty and support staff, and its research interests extend to many areas of dental science, such as oral biology, community and pediatric dentistry, and restorative and prosthetic dentistry. In the area of oral biology, research is concentrated on the microbiology of human infectious diseases, and research is being done on the oral colonization of bacteria. Restorative materials and bonding systems are being examined in operative dentistry. The area of Community Dentistry has several projects underway analyzing the oral health status and disease incidence in various provincial population groups. A funded study is also underway evaluating the soliday 3 toothbrush and its effects on periodontal health. The College has also been the recipient of two NORTH awards aimed at providing research experience for students who are potential future faculty members. The discipline of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology is pursuing funded research in collaboration with researchers from the Cancer Centre on oral markers as indicators of early cancerous lesions in the mouth. T.E.L. Project on “Posterior Composite Restorations” Years 1 to 4, CD-Roms and dental continuing education modules: The Operative Division is developing a series of modules with the collaboration of an instructional design team to supplement education for students in the College of Dentistry, students at the First Nations University, Prince Albert Dental Therapy program and the Dental Assisting program at SIAST Wascana in Regina. These modules, which will cover all aspects of Operative Dentistry, will also be customized for continuing dental education for dentists.