University of Saskatchewan

September 17, 2014   

U of S Award Recipients: Internal and External

U of S Internal Awards

External Awards
Notable Recipients
Nobel Laureates Associated with the U of S

Killam Fellows
E.W.R. Steacie Fellows
Royal Society of Canada Fellows
Governor General’s Awards
Other Awards

U of S Internal Awards

Distinguished Researcher Award Recipients
Innovation Place - ILO Award of Innovation Winners
J.W. George Ivany Internationalization Award
Distinguished Graduate Supervisor Award
More Internal Awards and Winners...

External Awards

Notable Recipients

Nobel Laureates Associated with the U of S:

Gerhard Herzberg, who won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1971 and was known worldwide as the father of modern molecular spectroscopy, taught at the University of Saskatchewan from 1935 to 1945.

Henry Taube, who won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1983, did his undergraduate and Master's degree studies here.

Killam Fellows (about the award...)

U of S winners of the prestigious Killam Research Fellowship administered by the Canada Council for the Arts:

2003  Robert Kerrich, Department of Geological Sciences
1998  John Courtney, Department of Political Studies
1995  David Smith, Department of Political Studies
1974  Norman Ward, Department of Political Studies
1968  Kiyoshi Izumi, who taught architecture in the former Environmental Studies Department, Regina campus of the U of S

E.W.R. Steacie Fellows (about the award...)

This award of the Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC ) aims to enhance the career development of outstanding and highly promising university scientists and engineers.

The U of S Geological Sciences department has the highest number of Steacie Fellows of any university science department in Canada.

1993:  T. Kurtis Kyser  Field: Geochemistry
1987:  Rob Kerrich   Field: Genesis of Ore Deposits
1985:  Ewan.G. Nisbet   Field: Archaean Geology

Royal Society of Canada Fellows (the senior national body of distinguished Canadian scientists and scholars--about the Royal Society of Canada)

Current Fellows Affiliated with the U of S

2010 John Giesy, Western College of Veterinary Medicine
2010 James Dosman, College of Medicine
2009 Larry Fowke, Department of Biology
2009 Peter Li, Department of Sociology
2008 Safa Kasap, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
2008 John Tse, Department of Physics and Engineering Physics
2007 William Waiser, Department of History
2007 Len Findlay, Department of English
2005 Guy Vanderhaeghe, Department of English, St. Thomas More College
2005 Janice MacKinnon, School of Public Health
2000 Akira Hirose, Department of Physics
1998 James Miller, Department of History
1994 Ted Llewellyn, Physics/Institute of Space and Atmospheric Studies
1992 Robert Kerrich, Department of Geological Sciences
1988 Curt Wittlin, Department of Languages and Linguistics
1981 David Smith, Department of Political Studies
1980 Roy Billinton, College of Engineering

Click here for a complete historical list of RSC Fellows affiliated with the University of Saskatchewan.

Governor General’s Awards (about the award...)

1996: Guy Vanderhaeghe, Visiting professor of English; Governor General's Literary Award for Fiction for his novel The Englishman's Boy
1989: Bob Calder, English professor; Governor General's Award for non-fiction for his biography Willie, the Life of Somerset Maugham

1997: Bill Waiser, history professor; Governor General's Award in non-fiction for Loyal till Death - Indians and the North-West Rebellion, co-authored with Blair Stonechild

Other Awards

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Knowledge Translation Award (about the award...)

Nazeem Muhajarine, Department of Community Health and Epidemiology, 2006 (Read news release...)

2005 Prix Galien Canada Research Award

Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Fellows (about the award...)

Jawahar (Jay) Kalra, Department of Pathology, 2005
Jim Dosman, Director of the Institute of Agricultural, Rural and Environmental Health, 2005
Roger Pierson, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences, 2005
Bill Albritton, Department of Pediatrics, 2005

July 2006 Saskatchewan Fulbright Awards