University of Saskatchewan

September 16, 2014   

Research News - Issue 3

April 08, 2005
University of Saskatchewan Research News


$20,000 from SSHRC Advances Child Poverty Research to Next Round

Debbie Pushor (College of Education) and U of S researchers, in partnership with Kate Waygood and Saskatoon community groups, have received $20,000 from SSHRC to advance to the full proposal stage of SSHRC's Community-University Research Alliance (CURA) program. If the full proposal is funded, the group will study the role schools can play in addressing challenges of child poverty and social exclusion in Saskatoon. The group's research will build upon previous research done by the Community-University Institute for Social Research (CUISR), a partnership between the U of S and community based organizations in Saskatoon that was funded over the last five years by SSHRC's CURA program. Results will be announced in spring, 2006.

U of S Researchers Increase Competitiveness with NSERC Grants

The U of S has closed the gap in average application success rate for NSERC Discovery grants. Eighty-four of 119 applications were successful, or 70 per cent. This is up from 66 per cent last year. The national success rate remained steady at about 75 per cent. Average size for Discovery grants to U of S researchers also increased to $31,136, up from $29,449 last year, a jump of $1,687. This is just off the national average of $32,609. Average size of NSERC Research Tools and Equipment grants also increased this year, from $41,506 to $46,599 - or $5,093. However, the national average also went up, by $5,885 to $59,078. The U of S success rate remains the same at 39 per cent, while the national rate went up seven per cent to 42 per cent.

SSHRC Average Grant Size Up, Success Rate Down

Average size of SSHRC grants to U of S researchers has gone up to $81,987 for a three- year grant for 2005-06. This compares to a $76,020 grant size last year and $73,029 in 2003-04. Success rate for SSHRC grants has declined over three years, from 39 per cent (9/23) two years ago to 29 per cent (13/45) last year and 27 per cent (8/30) this year.

CIHR New Investigator, PDF, Scholarship and Doctoral Awards Announced

Yu Luo is receiving a New Investigator Award, while Elodie Pastoral-Hardoin, supervised by Ron Geyer, is receiving a post-doctoral fellowship in this spring's round of CIHR awards. Calley Hirsch, supervised by Keith Bonham, receives a Canada Graduate Scholarship Doctoral Award. All three are from the department of biochemistry in the College of Medicine. Students Nelson Eng (VIDO) and William Journey (toxicology) are receiving CIHR doctoral awards. Their supervisors are respectively, Joanne Dillon (biology) and Bajit Singh (veterinary biomedical sciences).

Conference Fund Grant Program Launched

Faculty, students and staff putting together workshops and conferences now have access to resources through a new Conference Fund Grant program, administered by the office of the Associate Vice-President Research and the Vice-Provost. Events must be sponsored by the University or member of the campus community, take place in Saskatchewan, draw a minimum of 50 people, and cover at least one full day. Events must promote research, student scholarship, public outreach, teaching, enhanced administrative performance, or a combination of these areas. Grants size ranges from $250 to $5,000; deadline for applications are March 1 and September 1 every year. Information and an application form are available on the VP Research  website, or by calling Alice Der at 4057.

U of S Faculty to be Showcased on SCN's "Long Shadows"

In an effort to boost regional profile of some of our research faculty as per the Research Communications strategic plan, Jennifer Webber has been actively pitching U of S faculty who do research, scholarly and artistic work to various media, including SCN's "Long Shadows" TV program.
Taping just concluded and we're pleased to announce six U of S faculty and one graduate student will be featured this year, each for a half-hour interview on the following dates:
Lorne Babiuk- July 8, 9
Maria Campbell- September 16, 17
Ron Marken- October 21, 22
Bill Thomlinson- October 28, 29
Janice Acoose- November 4, 5 (PhD student, in English)
David Kaplan- November 11, 12
Bill Waiser - November 18, 19
Henry Woolf Part I - December 23, 24
Henry Woolf Part II - December 30, 31
Each episode runs three times on the weekend it airs: Friday at 7:30 & 11:30 pm; Saturday at 3:00

Engineering Researcher to Create Model to Help Avoid Disaster

Chris Zhang, associate professor of mechanical engineering, is receiving $462,000 over three years from the Joint Infrastructure Interdependencies Research Program (JIIRP), jointly funded by NSERC and the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada. Zhang will study the Cybernetic Critical Infrastructure System, or CCIS. The system includes elements, such as utilities, telecommunications and transportation and the people who run them. Disruption of this infrastructure by natural disaster or terrorist attack would harm Canadians or keep government from functioning. Zhang will work to develop a simulated CCIS environment that can be used to identify weak spots and guide policy makers.

Ellis Joins CLS as Director of Research

Tom Ellis has joined Canadian Light Source, Inc. as Director of Research. Ellis, who has been involved with the CLS since its inception, was previously Dean of Graduate Studies and Research at Acadia University in Wolfville, Nova Scotia. He can be reached at 657-3602.

Alice Der joins OVPR

Alice Der has joined the Office of the Vice President Research as Administrative and Research Assistant to Karen Chad, Acting Associate Vice President Research. Alice can be reached at 966-4057.

Prairie Swine Centre CEO Wins Industry Award

John Patience, president and CEO of the Prairie Swine Centre, received the Industry Leadership Award from the Alberta Pork Congress March 16 at their awards banquet in Red Deer. Harry Korthuis, one of the nominating committee, praised Patience's reputation over the last 20 years for providing straight answers to pork producers based on solid data. In accepting the award, Patience praised the team of researchers, technicians, students and staff at PSC that are recognized around the world for contributions to practical and applied science in pork production. Patience is the first out-of-province recipient of the award.

Beaulieu Enzyme Work wins Pork Industry Award for Innovation

Too much phosphorus in pig manure is a concern because it can leach into groundwater. Denise Beaulieu, and her team at the Prairie Swine Centre have found that by adding the enzyme phytase to the pigs feed, phosphorous output can be cut by 40 per cent. The work earned Beaulieu a U.S. National Pork Board Award of Innovation at the Midwest Animal Science meetings held in Des Moines, Iowa, one of only two presented.

Produced by University of Saskatchewan Research Communications
Phone: (306) 966-2427
To subscribe, unsubscribe or send a submission, e-mail:

Rate This Story

Score: 2.93/5 (334 ratings)