University of Saskatchewan

Awards and Recognition

Canadian Society for Chemistry John C. Polanyi Award


Ronald Steer - Canadian Society for Chemistry John C. Polanyi Award

Ronald Steer, professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Saskatchewan, has been awarded the Canadian Society for Chemistry’s John C. Polanyi Award. The award is presented annually to recognize excellence by a scientist carrying out research in physical, theoretical or computational chemistry or chemical physics. Steer is widely recognized as an outstanding researcher in photochemistry, photophysics and molecular fluorescence spectroscopy. His research on the behaviour of organic molecules that absorb light is leading to new insights in the field of solar energy.

Steer played a leading role in establishing the Saskatchewan Structural Sciences Centre (SSSC), a world-class research facility at the U of S, and served as SSSC director from 2001-2004. He has been recognized for his work by his colleagues with various honours and awards, including his appointment as fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada in 1978 and as Thorvaldson Professor of Chemistry at the University of Saskatchewan (1993-98). Steer was awarded an Earned Doctor of Science from the U of S in 1995, the U of S Master Teacher Award in 1996 and was named a U of S Distinguished Professor in 2011.

Read the press release