University of Saskatchewan

Awards and Recognition

View Award


CAUBO Quality and Productivity Awards

Description:The Canadian Association of University Business Officers (CAUBO) promotes the professional and effective management of the administrative, financial and business affairs of higher education. Its annual "Quality and Productivity" awards program is designed to recognize, reward and share university achievements in improving the quality and reducing the cost of higher education programs and services. There are two award categories - National and Regional.
Eligibility:Academic initiatives are welcome and will be considered on the grounds of increased productivity and effectiveness. Increased quality of instruction alone will not be considered, since it is beyond the scope of the CAUBO mandate, and other venues exist for its recognition.
Value:Three National awards are given annually for the best three submissions nationally. No institution may receive more than one National award per year. First prize is $10,000; second prize is $5,000; third prize is $3,000. Four Regional awards (plaques) are given for the best submission in each region (Atlantic Canada, Quebec, Ontario and Western Canada) which does not win a National award.
Application Procedures:Five categories, each with its own weight, are used to evaluate submissions: portability; originality; quality impact; productivity impact; involvement. Clear outcomes showing at least 12 months of measurable results also required. See additional details on website.
Contact Information:CAUBO, #320-350 Albert St., Ottawa, ON K1R 1B1; Tel.: (613) 230-6760; Fax: (613) 563-7739
Deadline:January 28

Deadlines on awards may change from year to year. Double-check all deadlines at agency web sites to avoid late-entry disqualification.