University of Saskatchewan

Awards and Recognition

View Award


Crafoord Prize (Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences)

Description:The Crafoord Prize in (1) Astronomy & Mathematics, (2) Biosciences, or (3) Geosciences is awarded annually according to a rotating scheme. The prize sum of USD 500,000 makes the Crafoord one of the world�s largest scientific prizes. An award in polyarthritis research is also awarded on an occasional basis.
Discipline(s):Geological Sciences, Biology, Mathematics, Civil and Geological Engineering, Medicine, Biomedical Science
Astronomy and Mathematics, Biosciences, Geosciences awards presented on an annual rotating basis. Awards in polyarthritis research given when deemed appropriate by a special committee.
Eligibility:Normally given to one recipient in the selected discipline(s) for the year, but may be awarded to up to three recipients.
Value:USD500,000. Presentation made as part of a major international scientific symposium.
Application Procedures:The Academy invites scientists from all over the world to nominate candidates for the prize. Nominations are submitted to the Academy during the spring prior to the year in which the decision is to be made. The nominations received are then reviewed and assessed by a Prize Committee consisting of members from the appropriate Academy classes.
Contact Information:Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Box 50005, SE-104 05 Stockholm, Sweden Phone: +46 8 673 95 00 Fax: +46 15 56 70 E-mail:
Deadline:April 15

Deadlines on awards may change from year to year. Double-check all deadlines at agency web sites to avoid late-entry disqualification.