Planning and Priorities Committee

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference

Eleven members of the General Academic Assembly, at least six of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair.  At least one member from the General Academic Assembly with some expertise in financial analysis will be nominated.
One Dean appointed by the Council
One undergraduate student appointed by the U.S.S.U.
One graduate student appointed by the G.S.A.
One sessional lecturer

Ex Officio Members
The Provost & Vice-president Academic or designate
The Vice-president (Finance & Resources) or designate
The Vice-president (Research) or designate
The Vice-provost Indigenous Engagement
The President (non-voting member)
The Chair of Council (non-voting member)
Resource Personnel (Non-voting members)
The Associate Provost, Institutional Planning and Assessment
The director of Resource Allocation and Planning
The Director of Institutional Effectiveness
The Chief Information Officer and Associate Vice-president Information and Communications Technology

Administrative Support
The Office of the University Secretary

The Planning and Priorities Committee of Council is responsible for:

  1. Conducting and reporting to Council on university-wide planning and review activities in consultation with the Provost and Vice-President (Academic).
  2. Evaluating College and Unit plans and reporting the conclusions of those evaluations to Council.
  3. Recommending to Council on academic priorities for the University .
  4. Recommending to Council on outreach and engagement priorities for the University.
  5. Seeking advice from other Council committees to facilitate university-wide academic planning.
  6. Recommending to Council on the establishment, disestablishment or amalgamation of any college, school, department or any unit responsible for the administration of an academic program, with the advice of the Academic Programs Committee.
  7. Balancing academic and fiscal concerns in forming its recommendations.
  8. Providing advice to the President on budgetary implications of the Operations Forecast and reporting to Council.
  9. Considering the main elements of the Operating Budget and the Capital Budget and reporting to Council.
  10. Advising the Academic Programs Committee on the fit with University priorities and the general budgetary appropriateness of proposals for new academic programs and program deletions.
  11. Integrating and recommending to Council on matters referred to it from other Council committees.
  12. Advising the President and senior executive on operating and capital budgetary matters, including infrastructure and space allocation issues, referred from time to time by the President, providing the advice is not inconsistent with the policies of Council. The Planning and Priorities Committee will report to Council on the general nature of the advice and, where practicable, obtain the guidance of Council. However, the Committee need not disclose to Council matters the disclosure of which would be inimical to the interests of the University.


 Membership 2018-19

Council Members

Dirk de Boer (chair)

Geography and Planning


Andrew Grosvenor



Lynn Lemisko

Educational Foundations


Darrell Mousseau



Peter Phillips

Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy


Louise Racine



Ken Wilson


2021 (second term)

General Academic Assembly Members

Angela Bedard-Haughn

Soil Science


Maxym Chaban



Marie Lovrod



Norman Sheehan




Keith Willoughby

Dean, Edwards School of Business


Sessional Lecturer

Meera Kachroo

Linguistics and Religous Studies


Other Members

Tony Vannelli

Provost and Vice-President Academic (ex officio)

Dena McMartin

(VP Research representative) Director of Research Services and Assistant Vice-President Research (ex officio)

Greg Fowler

VP Finance and Resources (ex officio)

Jacqueline Ottmann

Vice-Provost Indigneous Engagement (ex officio)

Brent Kobes

USSU designate

Naheda Sahtout

GSA designate

Resource Members

John Rigby

Associate Provost, Institutional Planning and Assessment


Director, Resource Allocation and Planning, IPA

Troy Harkot

Director, Institutional Effectiveness

Shari Baraniuk

Chief Information Officer (CIO) and AVP,  Information and Communciations Technoloogy

Jacquie Thomarat

Committee Secretary, Office of the University Secretary

Capital & Finance Subcommittee

Capital and Finance Subcommittee


Dirk de Boer, Chair
Lisa Kalynchuk
Susan Whiting
Joel Bruneau
Ralph Deters
Karen Lawson
Leslie Walter

Resource Members:

Jacquie Thomarat
John Rigby
Bryan Bilokreli
Shari Baraniuk
Colin Tennent
Colleen MacDonald*
Andrew Manovich
Tiffany Lepage*

*to attend as guests and a resource at the discretion of their reporting Director of AVP

Centres Subcommittee

Centres Subcommittee

Subcommittee Membership July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018


Dirk de Boer              Geography                 PPC
                                    and Planning
Ken Wilson                Biology                       PPC representative
Louise Racine            Nursing                      PPC representative
Dave Burgess             Educ. Admin.              RSAW representative
Rainer Dick                Physics & Engin.        RSAW representative
Ryan Brook                Animal Poultry Sci.    APC representative
Karsten Liber            Toxicology Centre     Representing centres
Piya Sen                   Director, Budget and Special Projects, designate of the Vice-President Finance and Resources
Laura Zink                Director, Special Projects, designate of the Vice President Research
Troy Harkot              Director, Institutional Effectiveness, Institutional Planning and Assessment, designate of the Provost
Resource Members
Jacquie Thomarat, Associate Secretary, Academic Governance (committee secretary)

Terms of reference

(from Section 8, Policy on Centres, as approved by Council December 2003)

A standing Subcommittee on Centres will be created.
•    To facilitate the creation of new centres
•    To monitor adherence to the Policy
•    To develop and review the Policy and Guidelines
•    To oversee the disestablishment of centres
•    To maintain a list of active centres

Membership on this Subcommittee will be drawn from the Planning & Priorities and Research, Scholarly & Artistic Work Committees of Council, the Offices of the three Vice-Presidents and will be supported by the University Secretary’s Office.  The Subcommittee will report to Council through the Planning & Priorities Committee.