Scholarships and Awards Committee Terms of Reference

Nine members of the General Academic Assembly, at least three of whom will be elected members of Council, normally one of whom will be chair
The Vice-president Academic of the USSU
The Vice-president Finance of the GSA
An Aboriginal representative from the Aboriginal Students’ Centre or a College Undergraduate Affairs Office

Ex Officio
The Provost & Vice-president Academic or designate
The Dean of Graduate Studies and Research or designate
The Associate Vice-president, Student Affairs or designate
The Vice-president University Advancement or designate (non-voting member)
The President (non-voting member)
The Chair of Council (non-voting member)

Resource Personnel (non voting members)
The Director of Graduate Awards and Scholarships
The Director of Finance and Trusts, University Advancement
The Assistant Registrar and Manager, Awards and Financial Aid (Secretary)

Administrative Support
Office of Awards and Financial Aid, Student and Enrolment Services Division

Membership 2018-19

Donna Goodridge (chair)



Ramji Khandelwal



Tracie Risling



General Academic Assembly Members

Carin Holroyd

Political Studies


Louise Humbert



Michael MacGregor



Emer O’Hagan



Kaori Tanaka

Physics and Engineering Physics


Alexandria Wilson

Educational Foundations


Other Members

Alison Pickrell

Assistant Vice-provost, Strategic Enrolment Management (ex officio)

Trever Crowe

Interim Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (ex officio)

Debra Pozega Osburn

Vice-President University Relations (ex officio, non-voting)

Graeme Joseph

Team Lead, Aboriginal Students’ Centre

Sheldon Moellenbeck

USSU designate

Jesus Corona Gomez

GSA designate

Resource Members

Heather Lukey

Director, Graduate Awards and Scholarships

Shandi Boser

Manager, Donation and Trusts Services

Russell Isinger


Wendy Klingenberg

Committee Secretary - Student Finance and Awards

The President and the Chair of Council are also ex-officio non-voting members of all University Council committees.

The Scholarships and Awards Committee is responsible for:

  1. Recommending to Council on matters relating to the awards, scholarships and bursaries under the control of the University.
  2. Recommending to Council on the establishment of awards, scholarships and bursaries.
  3. Granting awards, scholarships, and bursaries which are open to students of more than one college or school.
  4. Recommending to Council rules and procedures to deal with appeals by students with respect to awards, scholarships and bursaries.