Info For...




Alumni/ae Association

Our graduates are church leaders in local Canadian communities and in mission contexts around the globe. Our alumni/ae include,

  • Current bishops of the four Western Synods
  • Nine of the 14 Synodical and National Bishops in the 23-year history of the ELCIC
  • The current General Secretary of the Lutheran World Federation (LWF)
  • The current Director General of the Chaplaincy Division of Correctional Service Canada
  • University, college, and seminary presidents and professors
  • Numerous missionaries to developing countries
  • Chaplains in military, care home, hospital, and campus settings

Almost 800 of our alumni/ae have served as pastors in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC), in the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), and in the predecessor bodies of these churches. This level of excellence is humbling, and we are grateful for God’s love and guidance along the journey.

All graduates and former students of LTS are, by default, members of the Alumni/ae Association. The current President is Rev. Harley Johnson '81.

An annual reunion is held each May during the Study Conference. Alumni/ae are also encouraged to participate in the Hordern Classic golf tournament.

Members support the annually funded Alumni/ae Association General Proficiency scholarships, which are awarded to the student with the highest overall average in each year of study (entering, ongoing, graduating).


The Alumni/ae Association General Proficiency scholarships for the 2008-09 academic year were awarded on 13 October 2009.

Winners 2008-09:

Entering: Marc Jerry
Ongoing: Philip Penrod
Graduating: Thomas Keeley