Alumni

If you are a graduate of the Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Toxicology at the University of Saskatchewan we would love to hear from you!

Over the years we have lost touch with many of you and would certainly like to know what you are doing and where. Potential and current graduate students are also eager to see what their career prospects might be.

You paved the way for what has become the fastest growing toxicology graduate program in the country. We are hoping to post short pieces from former graduate students about what they are doing now or perhaps current topics of interest to toxicologists. If we have not listed information on your current status below, it means that we have not been able to reach you, or that we are just not sure that we can provide accurate information. If you do not want to be listed we certainly understand, but if you do, please e-mail us at tox.centre@usask.ca.  Also, if you know the whereabouts of a fellow former student, please encourage them to contact us or tell us where you think they are and we will try to find them.

Graduates of the toxicology program, their Email addresses and their last known current status, are listed in alphabetical order

Al-Dissi, Ahmad; PhD, 2011 ahmad.aldissi@usask.caAssistant Professor, Department of Veterinary Pathology, U of S, Saskatoon, SK
Anaka, Alison; MSc, 2008-Last Known: ENMAX, Calgary, AB
Anderson, Julie; MSc, 2011Julie.Anderson@stantec.comAquatic Scientist, Stantec, Winnipeg, MB
Beaulac (nee Juneau), Vanessa; MSc, 2007vanessa_beaulac@hc-sc.gc.caSenior Scientific Evaluator, Air Health Science Division, Health Canada, Ottawa, ON
Bechtel, Dan; MSc,1993; PhD, 2005info@prtox.caPrivate Consultant Owner, PRTox Consulting Inc., Saskatoon, SK
Bennett, Pamela; MSc, 2006PBennett@clauderesources.comEnvironment Superintendent, Claude Resources Inc., Saskatoon, SK
Benson, (nee Stoughton), Sarah, MSc, (2006)sarah.stoughton@areva.caEcologist/Environmental Scientist, AREVA Resources Canada Inc., Saskatoon, SK
Bharadwaj, Lalita; PhD, 1997lalita.bharadwaj@usask.caAssociate Professor, College of Nursing, U of S, Saskatoon, SK
Billinsky, Jennifer; PhD, 2009 jennifer.billinsky@usask.caPostdoctoral Fellow, College of Pharmacy & Nutrition, U of S, Saskatoon, SK
Bjarnason, Stephen; MSc, 1989stephen.biarnason@drdc-rddc.gc.caToxicologist in the Medical Therapy Group, Chemical and Biological Defence Section, DRDC
Blechinger, Scott; MSc, 2002scott_blechinger@hc-sc.gc.caScientific Evaluator, Existing Substances Division, Health Canada, Ottawa, ON
Boyd, Erin; MSc, 2007-Unkown
Bugiak, Brandie; MSc, 2009 bbugiak@ualberta.caLab Technician, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta, AB
Burn, John; MSc, 1993-Last Known: Institute of Bio-medical Engineering, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, NB
Burnett-Seidel, Charlene; MSc, 2011charlene_burnett-seidel@cameco.comEnvironmental Scientist, Cameco, Saskatoon, SK
Buzik, Shirley; MSc, 1985-Last Known: President & CEO, International Consultants in Toxicology Group, Saskatoon, SK
Carlson, Ruth; PhD, 2010ruth.carlson@usask.caInstructor, Georgia Gwinnett College, Atlanta, GA
Carmalt (nee Rosel), Kathryn; MSc, 2005kar669@mail.usask.caDVM student, WCVM
Chandraratne, Saminda; PGD, 2004-Unkown
Chung, Angela; MSc, 2006angela.chung@rcmp-grc.gc.caRCMP Forensic Laboratory, Winnipeg, MB
Copley, Heather; MSc, 2003-Unknown
Couillard, Catherine; PhD, 1990-Last Known: Researcher, Institute Maurice Lamontagne, Fisheries & Oceans Canada, Mont-Joli, QC
Crellin, Natasha; MSc, 2000-Last Known: Senior Scientist, Pfizer, San Francisco, CA
Cutter, Jessica; MSc, 2013jessica.cutter@pinter.caProject Scientist, Pinter & Associates Ltd., Saskatoon, SK
Davis, John; PhD, 1999-Unkown
de Rosemand, Simone; MSc, 2002sjc434@mail.usask.caSelf-employed, Saskatoon, SK
Desy, Julie; MSc, 1996-Last Known: Environmental Services Professional, Vancouver, BC
Doetzel, Lyndsay; MSc, 2007ldoetzel@edynamics.comAquatic Scientist, EDI Environmental Dynamics Inc., Whitehorse, YT
Doig, Lorne; PhD, 2004lorne.doig@usask.caResearch Scientist, Toxicology Centre, University of Saskatchewan
Driedger, Kimberlea; MSc, 2009kimberlea.driedger@golder.comAquatic Biologist, Golder Associates, Saskatoon, SK
Driessnack, Melissa; MSc, 2011melissa.driessnack@usask.caPhD Candidate - Toxicology, University of Saskatchewan
Duffy, Mary; PhD, 1998-Last Known: QLT Inc., North Vancouver, BC
Eizadi-Mood, Nastaran; PhD, 1998-Last Known: Associate Professor of Isfahan University of Medical Sciences Isfahan, Iran
Fahlman, Brian; MSc, 2003-Last Known: Analytical Chemist - Trace Organics, Alberta Innovates Technology Futures, Vegreville, AB
Franz, Eric; MSc, 2012eric.franz@usask.caAquatic Ecologist, Canada North Enivironmental Services, Saskatoon, SK
Froese, Jennifer; MSc, 2002jennifer.froese@ec.gc.caContaminated Sites Officer, Environment Canada, Edmonton, AB
Gentner, Nicole; MSc, 2010info@bayercropscience.caCompliance & Audit Specialist, Bayer CropScience, Saskatoon, SK
George, Tara; MSc, 2001tara.george@ontario.caSurface Water Specialist, Ministry of Environment, Thunder Bay, ON
Giberson, Pamela; PhD 1991-Last Known: Research & Innovation Development Officer, NSERC, Vancouver, BC
Goertzen, Meghan; MSc, 2011meghan.goertzen@lorax.caEnvironmental Toxicologist, Lorax Environmental Services Ltd, Vancouver, BC
Goff, Kira; MSc, 2012kira.goff@usask.caPhD Candidate - Biology, University of Saskatchewan
Golin, Mauro; PGD & MSc, PDG 1995/MSc 1999-Last Known: RCMP Forensic Laboratory, Regina, SK
Gunness, Patrina; MSc, 2007-Unkown
Gupti, Niti; MSc, 2009nitiguptam.sc@gmail.comNorthern Gold Mining, Wolfville, NS
Hanson, Lindsay; PGD & MSc, PGD 1989/MSc 1995-Last Known: Pest Management Regulatory Agency, Health Canada, Ottawa, ON
Harvey-Schafer, Alexis; PhD, 2011-Last Known: Environmental Consultant, Saskatoon, SK
He, Yuhe; PhD, 2012yuhehenr@ualberta.caPostdoctoral Research Fellows, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB
Heffernan, James; PhD, 2012-Unknown
Heggstrom, Michelle; MSc, 2009michelle.heggstrom@usask.caWSEP - Bio Safety Division, U of S, Saskatoon, SK
Hersikorn, Blair; MSc, 2009blair_hersikorn@golder.comEnvironmental Scientist, Golder, Saskatoon, SK
Hiebert, Linda; PGD, 1986linda.hiebert@usask.caAssociate Professor, Department of Veterinary Biomedical Sciences, U of S, Saskatoon, SK
Higley, Eric; MSc, 2009-Unknown
Himbeault, Kevin; MSc, 2004-Last Known: Cameco Corporation, Saskatoon, SK
Hruska, Kimberly; MSc, 2004khruska@langara.bc.caInstructor, Department of Biology, Langara College, Vancouver, BC
Hughes (Nee Armstrong), Sarah; MSc, 2005/PhD, 2008s.hughes@shell.comEcotoxicologist, Shell Health - Americas, Houston, TX
Hurskey, Olesya; MSc, 2012ohurskey@gmail.comSaskatchewan Research Council, Saskatoon, SK
Irvine, Michelle; MSc, 2004mechelle@irvinefamily.caOn Leave
James, Ashley; MSc, 2012ashley.james@usask.caPhD Candidate - Toxicology, University of Saskatchewan
James, Kyle; MSc, 2012kyle.james@usask.caPhD candidate at the University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK
Jia, Xuming: MSc, 1998-Last Known: Research Fellow, Department of Genetics & Complex Diseases, Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA
Johnson, Victor; MSc-Last Known: Bruleson Research Technologies, Morrisville, NC
Jones, Tania; MSc, 1996-Last Known: Manager Regulatory Affairs, Oncology & Biologics, Janssen Inc., Toronto, ON
Journey, Shane; PhD, 2007sjourneay@nanotoxicologyinc.comChief Executive Officer & President, Nanotechnology Toxicology Consulting & Training, Toronto, ON
Kallas-Koeman, Melissa; MSc, 2004melissa.kallas@med.ucalgary.caResident, Division of Endocrinology, Department of Medicine, The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
Korchinski, Mark; MSc, 1988mark_korchinski@hc-sc.gc.caDABT Clinical Evaluator, Marketed Health Products Directorate, Health Canada, Ottawa, ON
Laird, Brian; PhD, 2010brian.laird@uwaterloo.caAssistant Professor, School of Public Health & Health Systems, University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON
Lim, Heng-Keang; MSc, 1985-Last Known: Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Raritan, NJ
Lin, Leo; MSc, 2007-Last Known: ApoPharma, Toronto, ON
Lintott, Darlene; MSc, 1993-Last Known: Consulting Scientist, Exova Group, Edmonton, AB
Liu, Fengyan; MSc, 2011liufengyan007@gmail.comForensic Labortaory Assistant, Gamma Dynacare, Edmonton, AB
Lucas, Brett, MSc, 2014brett.lucas@usask.caEnvironmental Scientist, Nautilus Environmental, Burnaby, BC
MacNabb, Linda; MSc, 1992-Unknown
Magnuson, Berna; MSc, 1985berna@bernamagnuson.comPresident, BMagnuson Consulting, Mississauga, ON
Mannala, Shajan; PGD & MSc, PGD, 1997/MSc 1999-Last Known: Consultant, Pre-Clinical Programs & Clinical Program, KARD Scientific, Keller, TX
Martz, Valery; PGD, 1987vmartz@inspection.gc.caQuality Manager, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Saskatoon, SK
Matz, Carlyn; PhD, 2008-Last Known: Health Canada, Ottawa, ON
May, Victoria; MSc-Last Known: Research Technician, Diagnostic Lab, PDS, Western College of Veterinary Medicine
Mayers, Daryl; MSc & PhD, MSc, 1988/PhD, 1992-Last Known: Professor, Centre of Forensic Sciences, University of Toronto, Toronto, ON
McEwen, Barbara; MSc, 2009-Last Known: Contaminated Sites Officer, Environment Canada, Winnipeg, MB
McGuigan, Claire; MSc, 2007mcguigan@ualberta.caPhD candidate at the University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB
Moosa, Adel; MSc, 1987-Unknown
Mostrom, Michelle; PhD, 1993-Last Known: Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, North Dakota State University, Fargo, ND
Muscatello, Jorgelina; MSc, 2004jmuscatello@stantec.comAquatic Discipline Lead, Santec Consulting, Vancouver, BC
Nail, Jonathon; PhD, 2011 Naile.Jonathan@epamail.epa.govPost Doctoral Fellow, United States Environmental Protection Agency National Exposure Research Laboratory Ecosystems Research Division, Athens
Nihei, Michelle; PGD & MSc PGD, 1988/MSc, 1990-Last Known: Trainer, Michelle Nihei Racing Stables, Lexington, KY
Ofukany, Amy; MSc, 2012Amy_Ofukany@golder.comAquatic Biologist, Golder Associates, Saskatoon,SK
Olsgard-Dumanski, Mandy; MSc, 2007mdumanski@klohn.comSr Toxicologist/Risk Assessor, Klohn Crippen Berger, Edmonton, AB
Palasz, Filip; MSc, 2004Filip.Palasz@aer.caDirector, Alberta Government Relations, Stakeholder and Government Relations Division, Edmonton, AB
Pattanaik, Uttara; PhD, 1996-Last Known: Client Partner-Life Sciences & Healthcare, Alexander Hughes, Gurgaon, India
Phaneuf, Marcelle; MSc, 2004marcelle.phaneuf@iaea.orgEnvironmental Assessment Analyst, International Atomic Energy Agency, Vienna, Austria
Phibbs, Jamie; MSc, 2011james.phibbs@aecom.comEnvironmental Scientist, AECOM, Winnipeg, MB
Plante, Amanda; MSc, 1999amanda.plante@usask.caResearch Administration, U of S, Saskatoon, SK
Pollock, Brady; MSc, 2007-Unknown
Puttaswamy, Naveen; PhD, 2011naveen@ehe.org.inReaserach Scientist, Department of Env. Health and Engineering, Sri Ramachandra University, Porur, Chennai
Ram-Joshi, Jason; MSc, 1998-Unknown
Rickwood, Carrie; PhD, 2006Carrie.Rickwood@NRCanRNCan.gc.caScientist, Natural Resources Canada, Ottawa, ON
Robertson, Erin; MSc, 2006erin_robertson@cameco.comEnvironmental Specialist, K + S , Potash, Saskatoon, SK
Rogers, Vince; MSc, 1998; PhD, 2003 vince.rogers@ualberta.caDirector of Operations, Alberta Diabetes Institute, Edmonton, AB
Rozon-Ramilo, Lisa; MSc, 2011-Last Known: Environmental Consultant, Stantec, Guelph, ON
Salisbury, Heather; MSc, 2006heather.salisbury@usask.caAdministrator, Student Disability Centre, U of S, SK
Schappert, Keith; PhD, 1986-Last Known: Research Director, Nova Molecular Technologies, Janesville, WI
Schneider, Scott; MSc, 2003-Last Known: Postdoctoral Scientist, Research Institute for Fragrance Materials, Hackensack, NJ
Segal, Lawrence; PhD, 1987LAWRENCE.M.SEGAL@GSK.COMDirector, Nonclinical Toxicology & Pharmacology, Belgium
Serben, Kerrie; MSc, 2002kserben@vizonscitec.comEnvironmental Scientist, Golder Associates, Ltd. Saskatoon, SK
Shitut, Mithila; MSc, 2012mithila.shitut@usask.caAdministration, University of Saskatchewan
Siciliano, Steve; PhD, 1998siciliano@sask.cusask.caProfessor, Department of Soil Science, U of S, Saskatoon, SK
Siggers (nee Cleave), Jayda; MSc, 2004jaydasiggers@gmail.comOwner, Eat WHOLE BeVITAL, Nutrition, Ottawa, ON
Smida, Andrea; MSc, 2004andrea.smida@usask.caBiosafety Manager, U of S, Saskatoon, SK
Sobey, Kirk; MSc, 1999-Deceased
Sokoro, AbdulRazaq; PhD, 2007-Last Known: Clinical Biochemist, Diagnostic Services, Winnipeg, MB
Spencer, Paula; MSc, 2008-Unknown
Squires, Allison; MSc & PhD, MSc, 2005/ PhD, 2011allison.squires@usask.caOwner of Upland Organics, Wood Mountain, SK
Stoddart, Reagen; MSc, 2007rstoddart@irc.inuvialuit.comEnvironmental Specialist, Shell Canada, Calgary, AB
Stoughton, Sarah; MSc, 2006-Last Known: Ecologist/Environmental Scientist, AREVA Resources Canada Inc., Saskatoon, SK
Tomar, Rajpal; PhD, 1985rtomar@oehha.ca.govScientific Affairs Division, California Environmental Protection Agency
Tompsett, Amber; PhD, 2012-Ecotoxicologist, Monsanto, St. Louis, MO
Toor, Navdeep; PhD, 2011nst@summit-environmental.comRegional Manager, Environmental Scientist, Summit Environmental Consultants, Saskatoon, SK
Uwiera, Richard, MSc, 1992-Last Known: Professor, Department of Agricultural, Food & Nutritional Science, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB
Vanderkop, Perry; MSc, 1988-VanderKop & Associates Consulting, Beiseker, AB
Vardy, David; MSc, 2011d.vardy@usask.caPhD Candidate - Toxicology, University of Saskatchewan
Walker, William; MSc, 1994-Unknown
Weese Maley, Sharleen; PGD, 2002sharleen.maley@usask.caClinical Research Associate, Saskatchwan Drug Research Institute, Saskatoon, SK
Willey, Jeff; MSc, 2000jeff_willey@hc-sc.gc.caBiologist, Air Quality Assessment Section, Air Health Effects Division, Safe Environments Programme, Health Canada, Ottawa, ON
Wivcharuk, Kyle; MSc, 1999kyle_wivcharuk@peelregion.caEnvironmental Scientist, Cameco, Saskatoon, SK
Yang, Yinfei; MSc, 2009-Technical Officer Quantum Genetix, Saskatoon, SK
Zhang, Wei; MSc, 2003-Unknown
Zhou, Chen; PhD, 1994-Last Known: Professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC