NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Awards

Undergraduate students considering pursuing graduate studies following their degree are encouraged to apply for the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Undergraduate Student Research Awards (USRA). These awards provide valuable work experience and exceptional opportunities to participate in research. The Global Institute for Water Security (GIWS) has a number of faculty interested in hiring undergraduate students successful in obtaining an USRA.

Who is eligible?

To be eligible to apply for an award, a student must:

  • Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada.
  • Be registered (at the time of application) in a bachelor's degree program at an eligible university.
  • Have obtained, over the previous years of study, a cumulative B (75%) average or above.
  • At the time of the award, have completed all the course requirements of at least the first year of university study (or two academic terms) of your bachelor's degree.
  • Have not started a graduate studies program in the natural sciences or engineering.

 

Applications and expressions of interest:  Students apply to the university and department of their choice.  We encourage students to get in touch with Global Institute for Water Security faculty members as soon as possible to discuss research opportunities.

  • Helen Baulch, helen.baulch@usask.ca
  • Jeff Hudson, jeff.hudson@usask.ca
  • Andrew Ireson, andrew.ireson@usask.ca
  • John Pomeroy, john.pomeroy@usask.ca
  • Cherie Westbrook, cherie.westbrook@usask.ca
  • Howard Wheater, howard.wheater@usask.ca

NSERC Undergraduate Research Awards have a value of $4,500, and are supplemented by at least 25%. The minimum pay for the tenure of the award is $5,740.

 

How to apply:

  • Students should get in touch with potential faculty supervisors to discuss research opportunities and eligibility to supervise NSERC USRA students. 
    • Faculty must hold an NSERC grant in order to work with the student. 
    • Students interested in working with Global Institute for Water Security faculty members are encouraged to contact faculty prior to January 4, 2013
    • Once as student has found an eligible professor, they will have to complete an online Form 202 part I, and the potential supervisor will complete part II of Form 202.
  • Form 202, part I of the application process must be completed by January 4, 2013.
  • Additional application details are available here.

Please submit inquiries to Kate Wilson, Executive Assistant, Global Institute for Water Security at kate.wilson@usask.ca

water