Picture of                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Dr. Jeffrey McDonnell

Dr. Jeffrey McDonnell Professor and Associate Director

Global Institute for Water Security, School of Environment and Sustainability


Jeffrey J. McDonnell is Professor in the School of Environment and Sustainability and Associate Director of GIWS. In addition, he is Distinguished Professor of Hydrology (adjunct) at Oregon State University, 6th Chair of Hydrology at the University of Aberdeen and Honorary Professor of Hydrology at the Nanjing Hydraulic Research Institute. Prior to returning to Canada in 2012, he was the Richardson Chair in Watershed Science at Oregon State University since 1999.
He was a Commonwealth Scholar to New Zealand and completed his PhD at the University of Canterbury in 1989; he was awarded the DSc in 2009. Professor McDonnell's research focuses on new ways to measure, understand and model streamflow generation processes. Jeff has co-authored ~200 journal articles on watershed hydrology and co-edited the Elsevier textbook "Isotope Tracers in Catchment Hydrology". He is a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union, the Geological Society of America, the International Water Academy and the Royal Geographical Society (UK). He has received the Dalton Medal from the European Geophysical Union, the Birdsall-Dreiss Distinguished Lecturer Award from the Geological Society of America, the Gordon Warwick Award from the British Geomorphological Research Group, the Nystrom Award from the Association of American Geographers and is currently President-Elect of the AGU Hydrology Section.


Keywords: Watershed hydrology; runoff processes and modelling; isotope hydrology; hydrological theory