Picture of                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Jeffrey McDonnell

Jeffrey McDonnell Professor

President, AGU Hydrology Section; Associate Director, Global Institute for Water Security; Professor, School of Environment and Sustainability

11 Innovation Boulevard, Saskatoon SK S7N 3H5


Jeffrey J. McDonnell was born in Toronto, Canada in 1959 and educated at the University of Toronto, Trent University and the University of Canterbury, where he was a Commonwealth Scholar. He has taught at Utah State University, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry and Oregon State University, where he was Richardson Chair in Watershed Science. Since 2012, he has been Professor of Hydrology and Associate Director of the Global Institute for Water Security at the University of Saskatchewan. He holds the title of 6th Century Chair in Hydrology at the University of Aberdeen, University Distinguished Professor (adjunct) at Oregon State University and is Honorary Professor at the Nanjing Hydraulic Research Institute. Jeff’s work focuses on new ways to measure, understand and model streamflow generation processes. He has co-authored ~250 articles on watershed hydrology and co-edited the Elsevier textbook “Isotope Tracers in Catchment Hydrology”. He is an elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (Canada’s National Academy of Science), and an elected Fellow of the Geological Society of America and the American Geophysical Union. He is the 2016 winner of the International Hydrology Prize (Dooge Medal) from the International Association of Hydrological, UNESCO and World Meteorological Organization. Previously, he has received the Dalton Medal from the European Geophysical Union and the Birdsall-Dreiss Distinguished Lecturer Award from the Geological Society of America. Jeff is currently President of the AGU Hydrology Section.