University of Saskatchewan

Western College of Veterinary Medicine

Left to right: Lyse Boisvert (Bernard's daughter), Halina Boisvert (Bernard's widow), Dr. Germaine Hung, the first recipient of the Dr. Bernard Boisvert Memorial Scholarship and WCVM Dean Dr. Douglas Freeman.

Featured WCVM Awards and Scholarships

Each year, the Western College of Veterinary Medicine presents more than 170 awards and scholarships worth over $250,000 to students enrolled in its DVM program. Click on the following profiles to learn more about some of the College's awards.

Dr. Bernard Boisvert Memorial Scholarship

During the WCVM Spring Awards program in June 2010, the College announced the Dr. Bernard Boisvert Memorial Scholarship — a new award that was created through generous donations from the friends and family of Dr. Bernard Boisvert, who died on June 29, 2009. The $2,250 award recognizes a senior student in the DVM program who: 

The award was established in memory of Boisvert (WCVM '79) who began Mission Ridge Animal Hospital in St. Albert, Alta., in 1979. Besides operating his successful practice, Boisvert was the veterinarian at Valley Zoo in Edmonton, Alta., for more than a decade and served as president of the Edmonton Association of Small Animal Veterinarians. In addition, Boisvert was founding member of the Canadian Veterinary Ophthalmology Association and a board member of the Canadian Academy of Veterinarian Dermatology. 

The first recipient of the Dr. Bernard Boisvert Memorial Scholarship was Dr. Germaine Hung, WCVM Class of 2010.

Dr. Susan Ambrose Award
ambrose award

This award is named after Dr. Susan Ambrose, a WCVM graduate from the Class of 1988. The award, which was first presented in September 2009, is sponsored by the B.J. Hughes Foundation that was established by Bev Hughes, a Calgary business owner and entrepreneur. Hughes wanted to recognize her longtime veterinarian and friend.

The annual $5,000 award recognizes students in the third or fourth year of the College's DVM program who are planning a career in small animal health care.

The award's first recipient was Andrea Donaldson (left), a member of WCVM's Class of 2011. Donaldson personally accepted the award from Ambrose (right) during the 2009 WCVM Fall Awards program in Saskatoon, Sask.