The President's Staff Excellence Award recognizes staff members who have achieved excellence while demonstrating dedication and commitment to the university’s Mission, Vision and Values and support of the University Plan.

The staff member must be a current employee as of April 30 of the year of the nomination.


  • Enhancement of the work environment by providing extraordinary service to the university community.
  • Inspiration, support and respect for the endeavours of others.
  • Distinction of accomplishment achieved through dedication and commitment to the university’s Mission, Vision and Values and support of the University Plan.


A minimum of five awards* will be given out this year.

*Subject to the number of qualifying nominations received.


The submission deadline is 11:59 pm on Friday, March 31, 2023. 

Please Note: Late submissions will not be accepted. 


All members of the University of Saskatchewan community are invited to nominate an employee for the President's Staff Excellence Award. Each nomination must include:

  • a completed nomination form
  • a one-page overview/executive summary by the nominator;
    • include specific examples of how the nominee meets the criteria of this award;
  • nominee’s people leader contact information; and
  • one or two letters of support. These letters may be:
    • from an internal supporter, for example, students, co-workers;
    • from an external supporter as they relate to the work of the nominee at the university; or
    • endorsed by one or more individuals.

It is a good idea to inform the nominee's people leader of the nomination so they are aware their employee is being considered for the award.


Please contact if you have any questions.

More Information

The President's Staff Excellence Award Committee considers applications of many deserving individuals. In order to assist nominators in preparing the best package possible on behalf of the nominee, we are pleased to provide the following tips for preparing a University President's Staff Excellence Award package.

Choose supporters wisely

Seek letter[s] of support from individuals who have direct knowledge of the nominee and can speak first-hand about his or her contribution. Please limit the length of support letters to 1-2 pages.

Speak directly to each criteria

Commentary included on the nomination form and letter[s] of support must speak directly to the selection criteria and include the specific demonstration of behaviour that exemplifies the selection criteria. We strongly encourage specific linkage to at least two of the values and principles set out in the Mission, Vision and Values and at least one of the elements (Commitments, Aspirations, or Goals) of the University Plan.

Use simple language

Try to avoid technical or discipline-specific terms. If it is not possible to avoid particular terms, explain or define the terms so that non-experts will understand them. It might be helpful to have a non-expert review material that includes technical and/or discipline-specific language for clarity and understanding.

Clearly outline the significance of the contribution

While the significance of the nominee’s contributions may be obvious to you, do not assume it will be obvious to all those who are reading the applications. Help us make the connection between behaviours and/or activities toward specific outcomes.

Meet deadlines

Deadlines are required so the individuals reviewing the applications have time to give each application the attention it deserves. We appreciate the time and energy that goes into a nomination and we want to give each nominee due consideration.


Take a moment to appreciate the individual you are nominating—we are fortunate to have so many people who meet the criteria for this award and are deserving. And, we appreciate you for taking the time to prepare a nomination.

The selection committee includes representatives from:

  • Administrative and Supervisory Personnel Association (ASPA)
  • CUPE Local 1975
  • Exempt Staff
  • Faculty
  • People and Resources
  • University Relations
  • President’s Office
Year Recipient
  • Deborah Briere, Manager, Clinical Learning Resources Centre, USask Health Sciences
  • Katharine Fahlman-Smith, Director of Academic Recruitment and Immigration, Office of the Vice-Provost Faculty Relations
  • Mary Freeman, Director, Clinical Learning Resources Centre, USask Health Sciences
  • Adam Harrison, Manager, Controlled Environment Facility (Phytotron), College of Agriculture and Bioresources
  • Danielle Larocque, Associate Director medSask/Continuing Professional Development of Pharmacy Professionals, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition
  • Charles Lytle, Maintenance Planner, Facilities
  • Mackenzie Malo, Laboratory Manager (Dadachova lab), College of Pharmacy and Nutrition
  • Nancy Turner (PhD), Director, Teaching and Learning Enhancement
  • Donna van de Velde, Program Assistant, University Library
  • Yvette Arcand, Acting Director, the Indian Teacher Education Program, College of Education
  • Wendy James, Manager, Professional and Curriculum Development, Gwenna Moss Centre for Teaching and Learning
  • Majak Mapiour, Chemical and Biological Engineering Laboratory Coordinator, College of Engineering
  • Kurtis Swekla, Acting University Veterinarian and Director of Animal Ethics, Office of the Vice President Research
  • Carrie Verishagen, Director, Eat Well Saskatchewan, College of Pharmacy and Nutrition
  • Lana Elias
  • Darrell Solie
  •  Alexis Dahl
  • Dale Claude
  • Margret Asmuss
  • Pam Komonoski
  • Liz Scott
  • Candace Wasacase-Lafferty
  • Heather Anne Burch
  • Rae Bourner
  • Michele Derksen
  • Marlene Fehr
  • Glen Hauser
  • Laura Kennedy
  • Heather Lukey
  • Allan Stuchenko
  • Bryan Bilkokreli
  • Cathie Fornssler
  • Edna Jen Warrington
  • Gordon Herman
  • Patrick Hayes
  • Parkash Virdi
  • Catherine Dgunderson
  • Lynn Guina
  • Barbara Gillis
  • Val Arnault-Pelletier
  • Brad Steeves
  • Pauline Melis
  • Norma McBain
  • David Bocking
  • Peter Herd
  • Howie Salisbury
  • Danielle Fortosky
  • Eileen Herteis
  • Colleen Teague
  • Heather Kuttai
  • Merry Beazely
  • Grace Milashenko
  • Nathan Kolla
  • Merv Pryziasniuk
  • Bob Cram
  • Elaine Angielski
  • Wendy Bates
  • Evelyn Peters
  • Jacqueline Fraser
  • Eileen McLean
  • Kurt Tischler
  • Rhoda Miko
  • Neil Richards