Photo by Dave Stobbe
Photo by Dave Stobbe

Health Sciences lab managers recognized for collaboration

As part of Safety and Health week, Safety Resources took the opportunity to celebrate those in the USask community who go above and beyond to keep our students, staff and faculty safe.

This includes USask’s annual Safety Recognition Award which was given to the Health Sciences lab managers for their outstanding work over the past year.

“Although this award is not typically given to a team, the Health Sciences lab managers are such a collaborative group that they cannot be celebrated as just individuals,” said Jeff Lindsay, coordinator, research and safety programs.

Lab managers across campus are crucial to the safety and operations within their colleges and units. This year the Health Sciences lab managers, Mark Boyd, Vicki Keeler, Heather Neufeld, Chris O’Grady and Angela Seto, are recognized as influencers who affect all levels of research and help exemplify that research can be both productive and safe.

“We definitely see the Health Sciences lab managers as leaders on campus,” said Lindsay. “They were the first to ensure the mandatory use of lab coats as part of the general PPE compliance directive. This is a cultural shift that is creating change across a variety of colleges and units who are following their lead.”

This group is engaged across a variety of safety committees and is well known to be the first to operationalize safety initiatives ranging from import/export permits, safeguarding science, controlled substances, and the transport of dangerous goods, to WHMIS and its mandate for updated chemical inventories.

“With the unique circumstances of COVID-19 it’s especially important to highlight the great work that’s taking place,” said Lindsay. “It’s not just our award winners who are making a difference, our entire USask community is working diligently to flatten the curve.”

Congratulations and thank you to all of the Safety Recognition Award nominees for their hard work keeping everyone at Usask safe. Those nominated this year are Susan Cook, Rick McHaffie, Daniel MacPhee, Natalia Rudnitskaya and Ana Vallente.

Share this story